地球共享 - 关于极端温度的一切

关于极端温度的一切。原因、后果和解决方案

过去十年--坦率地说,仅在过去五年--显示了极端温度和降水的急剧增加,导致了从长期干旱(其本身导致野火)到大规模冰风暴到泥石流到多个4级和5级飓风的一切。随着我们的气候变暖,温度和风暴系统被改变;在某些情况下,显著改变。而这已经并将继续导致越来越严重的结果。

但为什么会发生这种情况?是否有什么办法可以阻止它呢?

简短的回答:气候变化,咄。而且是的!

长的答案......嗯......让我们直接进入正题。

天气与气候

第一广场:定义天气和气候之间的区别。这可能看起来很平凡,甚至有点艰巨,但事实是,大多数人都很难知道这两个术语之间的区别。幸运的是,我们有备而来!

  • 天气:大气层的短期变化(如暴风雨)。
  • 气候:天气模式的长期变化,通常在一个特定的地区

因此,当科学家使用 "气候变化 "这个短语时,它指的是多年来天气模式、温度和降水水平的变化,以及这些模式与之前几十年甚至几个世纪的模式的比较。这些前几十年被称为 "气候常态"。然后,科学家们能够观察到这些模式的变化。

就气候变化而言,自20世纪初以来,温室气体释放的增加(很大程度上是由于工业和技术的进步)引发了世界各地整体天气模式的重大变化。

是什么造成了极端气温?

困在地球大气层中的温室气体捕获热量,反过来又增加了地球的表面温度。到目前为止,地球的表面温度已经增加了大约1.2°C(或大约2.2°F)。这种被困的热量导致了零星的加热事件,形成了热浪,这些热浪比我们以前见过的热浪持续时间更长。事实上,作为温室气体排放增加的直接结果,现在经历极端高温和热浪的可能性估计比工业化时代之前高10倍。

根据IPCC,"在前工业化时代每十年发生一次的热浪,在升温1.5°C时,每十年会发生4.1次,在2°C时,会发生5.6次"。气候科学家Sonia Seneviratne提出,温度的增加高于2℃,"意味着大多数年份将受到热的极端情况的影响"。

喷气流的变化也可以创造 "热穹",在那里,天气变得停滞不前,极端的热量在一个地区上空停留数天甚至数周不动。

降水增加带来的问题

全球温度上升的一个次要副作用是降水。而且是大量的。随着温度升高,更多的地表水蒸发,在大气中聚集并形成雨云。大气中存在的水蒸气越多,降雨量就越大。结果是。温度升高=降水增加=降雨量增加。

气候和能源解决方案中心估计,气温每升高一度,空气中的水蒸气就会增加7%。

但需要注意的是,仅仅因为一个地区的水汽化并形成雨云,并不意味着这些云会在同一地区降水。云层通过喷气流的方式旅行,可以在下雨或下雪之前被推到新的地点。根据该地区的原始气候,这可能导致洪水、泥石流、天坑(由于沉积物的移动)等等。一些气候变得异常干燥,陷入干旱,而另一些则变得更加潮湿--有时超过现有环境所能承受的程度,这可能导致前面提到的问题。

水蒸气的增加也导致了热带风暴和更危险的天气系统的增加(你可以查看我们关于飓风的文章,了解那些飓风是如何产生的)。随着世界变得越来越热,这些类型的风暴的严重程度将继续增加。

极热会导致极冷吗?

简短的回答?是的。是的,它可以。

介绍一下极地漩涡。我们不会对这一切背后的科学进行大规模的深入研究(此外,国家海洋局已经做了比我们更好的工作,而且还有图片!),但它的简短和甜蜜是这样的:南北两极都被大气中一种叫做 "极地涡旋 "的东西所覆盖。这个漩涡,在稳定的情况下,是由紧密循环的冷空气组成,停留在一个特定的区域上方,从而保持持续的低温。

然而,科学家发现,随着地球和北冰洋水域开始变暖,这些极地漩涡的稳定性开始降低。当这种情况发生时,极地漩涡扩大并开始向南输送寒冷的空气。这可能导致极端的冷锋和越来越严重的冬季风暴。

10家非营利组织在工作中的表现

所以现在你对气候变化及其对极端温度的影响有了更多的了解。但是,对此可以做些什么呢?我们正在寻找一些非营利组织,他们把为环境、气候科学而奋斗作为自己的生命和使命,并努力实现一个没有如此极端的温室气体生产的更健康、更清洁的地球。

阿拉斯加 - 州

阿拉斯加保护基金会专注于保护阿拉斯加敏感的生态系统(这些生态系统正以比世界其他地区快得多的速度经历着气候变化的影响),通过促进保护慈善事业,将资源导向保护组织和倡议,并通过赠款投资于健康、清洁的未来,致力于保护阿拉斯加的公共土地和水域。

马里兰州 - 地区

切萨皮克湾联盟将各州、社区、公司和保护主义者聚集在一起,改善切萨皮克湾流域地区及其周边的土地和水域。联盟以森林、农业、绿色基础设施、管理和参与为重点,努力为每一个依靠这些资源生活和发展的人维持、保护和尊重一个健康、有弹性的生态系统。

国家

生态技术中心也被称为CET,它认为应对气候变化需要公正和公平地过渡到低碳经济。与全国各地的合作伙伴一起,CET为日常需求提供实用、经济和环保的解决方案,如个人减废、脱碳和当地碳抵消(仅举几例)。

CNT

国家

邻里技术中心或CNT的目标是推进城市环境的可持续性,从交通到公共政策,从土地和水等关键资源到气候危机。通过识别和分析城市环境问题,CNT可以利用和推进解决这些问题的关键举措,并进一步开展有关解决方案的教育。

伊利诺伊州 - 地区

与社区合作改善他们的环境是三角洲研究所的主要任务。特别是在那些历史上没有发言权或没有必要的能力来解决环境问题的社区,三角洲研究所优先考虑整个中西部居民的福祉。雨水、减少废物和再生土壤健康只是三角洲研究所关注的几个领域。

密歇根州 - 当地

生态中心在密歇根州有两个办事处,其工作重点是环境教育、能源公平、空气质量、气候行动和结束铅中毒。这些努力包括教育消费者,推动企业和大企业利用清洁能源、产品和服务,并与政策制定者一起制定法律,保护密歇根州的社区和支持它们的关键环境。

华盛顿特区 - 地区

宗教间电力和照明公司与教会合作,以节约能源、使用太阳能、购买清洁电力,并支持一个更健康的地球。通过研讨会、资源和指南,帮助开展清洁能源教育,以及支持绿色食品选择和健康生活的计划,宗教间电力和照明公司正在帮助建立一个充满活力、具有地球意识的信仰社区。

密歇根州 - 当地

密歇根州能源选择相信,清洁能源是一个更快乐、更健康的地球的关键解决方案,它应该从本地开始。通过在密歇根州各社区开展的项目,MEO推动了提高能源效率的项目,并为全州的社区和企业实施可再生能源。从回收活动到直接安装清洁能源技术,密歇根能源选项帮助实现这一目标。

国际

保护我们的冬天(POW)使户外人士能够保护和倡导他们所热爱的空间。POW拥有一个由科学家、创意人、运动员和商业领袖组成的多元化社区,旨在通过广泛的教育、立法政策运动、宣传,以及激活一个由热爱环境的热情人士组成的广泛社区来保护环境。

威斯康星州 - 本地

通过利用可再生能源,RENEW威斯康星州正在帮助发展明天更强大、更健康、更有活力的威斯康星州。RENEW的政策和计划鼓励使用和支持所有形式的可再生能源 - 地热、水电、沼气、风能、太阳能等。通过改变威斯康星人对电力的看法,尊敬、教育、培养和赋权协会正在帮助支持一个更快乐、更健康的地球,并显著减少碳排放。

是否有一个组织应该在这个名单上,但却没有?请将您的建议发给我们:nonprofits@earthshare.org。另外,请查看我们的自然灾害系列的其他部分,其中突出了常见的自然灾害,它们对环境的影响,你可以做什么来帮助,以及那些已经在当地做这些工作的非营利组织。

分享

探索更多

订阅月刊

30x30 非营利合作伙伴

全国青年农民联盟

30x30 定义

宜居土地

30x30 定义

再生农业

EarthShare - AllAbout Extreme Temperatures

All About Extreme Temperatures: Causes, Consequences, and Solutions

The past ten years—frankly, the last five years alone—have shown a dramatic increase in extreme temperatures and precipitation leading to everything from extended droughts (which, themselves, lead to wildfires) to massive ice storms to mudslides to multiple Category 4 and 5 hurricanes. As our climate warms, temperatures and storm systems are altered; in some cases, significantly. And this has and will continue to lead to more and more severe outcomes.

But why is this happening? And is there anything that can be done to stop it?

The short answer: climate change, duh. And yes!

The long answer…well…let’s just get into it.

Weather vs. Climate

Square one: defining the difference between weather and climate. It might seem mundane or even a bit arduous, but the truth is, most people struggle to know the difference between the two terms. Luckily, we came prepared!

  • Weather: short-term changes in the atmosphere (e.g., a storm)
  • Climate: long-term changes in weather patterns, typically in a specific area

So, when scientists use the phrase “climate change,” it’s referring to the changes in weather patterns, temperatures, and levels of precipitation over years, and how these patterns compare to those in the decades—even centuries—that came before. These previous decades are referred to as “climate normals.” Scientists are then able to observe shifts in these patterns.

In the case of climate change, the increased release of greenhouse gases since the turn of the 20th century (in large part due to the advancement of industry and technology) has triggered significant changes in overall weather patterns around the world.

What's Causing Extreme Temperatures?

Greenhouse gases trapped in the earth’s atmosphere trap heat which, in turn, increases the surface temperature on earth. So far, Earth’s surface temperature has increased by approximately 1.2°C (or roughly 2.2°F). This trapped heat causes sporadic heating events, creating heat waves that are consistently hotter and last longer than those we’ve seen before. In fact, experiencing extreme heat and heatwaves is estimated to be ten times more likely now than it was pre-Industrial Era as a direct result of the increased greenhouse gas emissions.

According to the IPCC, “A heatwave that occurred once per decade in the pre-industrial era would happen 4.1 times a decade at 1.5°C of warming, and 5.6 times at 2°C.” Climate scientist Sonia Seneviratne suggests that an increase in temperatures higher than 2°C, “means that most years will be affected by hot extremes.”

Changes in the jet stream can also create “heat domes,” where the weather becomes stagnant—stuck in place—and instances of extreme heat sit over a region without moving for days or even weeks at a time.

The Problem with Increased Precipitation

A secondary side effect of the global temperature increase is precipitation. And lots of it. As temperatures increase, more surface water evaporates, collecting in the atmosphere and forming rainclouds. The more water vapor that exists in the atmosphere, the heavier the rainfall. As a result: Warmer Temperatures = Increased Precipitation = Increased Rainfall.

The Center for Climate and Energy Solutions estimates that for every degree of warming, water vapor in the air increases by 7%.

But it’s important to note that just because the water in one region vaporizes and forms rain clouds, it doesn’t mean that these clouds will precipitate in that same region. Clouds travel by way of jet stream and can be pushed to new locations before raining or snowing. Depending on the original climate of the region, this can lead to flooding, mudslides, sinkholes (due to shifting sediment), and more. Some climates get unusually dryer, falling into drought, while others become wetter—sometimes more so than the existing environment can withstand, which can lead to the previously mentioned issues.

Increased water vapor also leads to an increase in tropical storms and more dangerous weather systems (you can check out our article on hurricanes to learn how those are created). As the world gets hotter, the severity of these types of storms will continue to increase.

Can Extreme Heat Lead to Extreme Cold?

The short answer? Yes. Yes, it can.

Introducing the polar vortex. We won’t take a massive deep dive into the science behind it all (besides, the NOAA has done a way better job than we ever could—and with pictures!) but the short-and-sweet of it is this: both the North and South Poles are covered by something called a “polar vortex” in the atmosphere. This vortex, when stable, is made up of tightly circulating cold air that stays above a specific area, thus maintaining a consistently cold temperature.

However, scientists have discovered that as the earth and Arctic Sea waters begin to warm, the stability of these polar vortexes begins to reduce. As this happens, the polar vortex expands and starts sending frigid air southward. This can lead to extreme cold fronts and more and more severe winter storms.

10 Nonprofits Putting in the Work

So now you know a lot more about climate change and its effects on extreme temperatures. But what can be done about it? We’re looking at nonprofit organizations who make it their life and mission to fight for the environment, climate science, and working toward a healthier, cleaner earth without such extreme production of greenhouse gases.

Alaska - State

Focused on protecting Alaska’s sensitive ecosystems (which are experiencing the effects of climate change at a much faster rate than other parts of the world), Alaska Conservation Foundation works to protect public lands and waters in Alaska by promoting conservation philanthropy, directing resources to conservation organizations and initiatives, and investing in a healthy, clean future through grantmaking.

Maryland - Regional

Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay brings together states, communities, companies, and conservationists to improve lands and waters in and around the Chesapeake Bay watershed region. With a focus on forests, agriculture, green infrastructure, stewardship, and engagement, the Alliance strives to maintain, protect, and respect a healthy, resilient ecosystem for everyone who relies on these resources to live and thrive.

National

Also known as CET, the Center for EcoTechnology believes that tackling climate change requires a just and equitable transition to a low-carbon economy. Together with partners across the country, CET offers practical, economical, and environmentally friendly solutions for everyday needs, such as individual waste reduction, decarbonization, and local carbon offsets (to name just a few).

CNT

National

The Center for Neighborhood Technology or CNT has a goal of advancing sustainability in urban environments, from transportation to public policy, critical resources like land and water to the climate crisis. By identifying and analyzing urban environmental issues, CNT can utilize and advance critical initiatives that address these issues and further education about solutions.

Illinois - Regional

Working with communities to improve their environment is the primary mission of Delta Institute. Particularly in neighborhoods that have not historically had a voice or the necessary capacity to address environmental issues, Delta Institute prioritizes the wellbeing of residents throughout the Midwest. Stormwater, waste reduction and regenerative soil health are just a few areas of concern Delta Institute focuses on.

Michigan - Local

With two locations in Michigan, the Ecology Center focuses its efforts on environmental education, energy equity, air quality, climate action, and ending lead poisoning. These efforts include educating consumers, pushing corporations and Big Business to utilize clean energy, products, and services, and working alongside policymakers to establish laws that protect Michigan communities and the critical environments that support them.

Washington D.C. - Regional

Interfaith Power & Light works with congregations to save energy, go solar, purchase clean power, and support a healthier planet. With workshops, resources, and guides to help with education on clean energy as well as programs to support green food choices and healthier living, Interfaith Power & Light is helping to build a dynamic, earth-conscious community of faith.

Michigan - Local

Michigan Energy Options believes that clean energy is a key solution for a happier, healthier planet—and it should start locally. With programs in communities across Michigan, MEO drives projects that improve energy efficiency as well as implement renewable energy for neighborhoods and businesses throughout the state. From recycling events to the direct installation of clean energy technology, Michigan Energy Options helps make it happen.

International

Protect Our Winters (POW) empowers outdoor people to protect and advocate for the spaces they love. With a diverse community of scientists, creatives, athletes, and business leaders, POW aims to protect the environment through widespread education, legislative policy campaigning, advocacy, and by activating a widespread community of passionate individuals who love the environment.

Wisconsin - Local

By utilizing renewable energy, RENEW Wisconsin is helping to develop the stronger, healthier, and more vibrant Wisconsin of tomorrow. RENEW’s policies and programs encourage the use and support of all forms of renewable power—geothermal, hydropower, biogas, wind, solar, and more. By changing the way Wisconsinites think about power, RENEW is helping to support a happier, healthier planet with significantly reduced carbon emissions.

Is there an organization that should be on this list but isn’t? Send us your suggestions at [email protected]. Plus, check out the other installments in our Natural Disaster series, which highlights common natural disasters, their environmental impacts, what you can do to help, and nonprofits who are already on the ground doing just that.

Explore More

Request a Demo