地球共享 - 野火、气候变化和提供救济的非营利组织

野火、气候变化和提供救济的非营利组织

野火的经济和环境成本

野火所带来的危险的全部范围可能是微妙的,因为它们是可怕的。我们知道这些大火摧毁了财产--房屋、企业、农场、历史遗迹,但这种最初的、有形的破坏不仅仅是烧毁的建筑物和烧焦的土地。基本资源的破坏(水和天然气管道,电线)以及留下的生态危害都对地区造成了令人难以置信的损害,并可能为那些曾经把这些地区当作家的人带来长期的问题。

仅在2021年,美国因扑灭野火(救火)和损失赔偿而产生的总成本超过40亿美元。这需要巨大的经济损失;特别是当考虑到长期的损害将继续累积成本,因为居民和市政当局试图找到他们的 "新常态"。

对一个地区造成的环境危害也会造成长期的财务问题。大片树木和森林被烧毁的地区今后可能会出现泥石流和洪水问题,那里的土壤松散,无法吸收风暴(甚至消防工作本身)带来的多余的水。空气和水的质量问题也会给社区带来重大(和昂贵)的威胁,给居住在那里的人带来健康风险。大规模的动物和栖息地的损失会导致对幸存的生态系统的进一步破坏,使其更容易受到疾病和退化的影响。

是什么导致了野火?如何预防野火以及你能做什么来帮助它

为了充分了解人类如何在与野火的斗争中发挥作用,我们必须首先回答最关键的问题:野火是如何开始的?

不幸的是,在所有记录的野火中,大约85%的答案是:人类。从纵火到不小心丢弃烟头,再到无人看管的营火,人类有各种各样的方式来点燃这些火。尽管这个统计数字很糟糕,但它也意味着我们有一个巨大的机会--作为人,在预防森林火灾方面承担责任并了解我们的作用。

事实是,气候变化正在定期增加世界各地野火的风险。今天,由于气温定期上升和干旱,许多地方的 "野火季节 "是全年的。如果你住在野火区,请帮助减少火灾对你的财产的威胁,方法是加固你的房子以防止火星入侵,并在周边创造一个没有草、树和灌木的可防御空间。

住在野火区?访问一个容易发生火灾的地区?无论你在哪里,你都可以做很多事情来帮助预防火灾。首先,最重要的是:对你周围的环境要有意识。这意味着。

  • 干旱期间不要点火。
  • 在离开露营地时,确保完全熄灭篝火(余烬应该是冰冷的触感)。
  • 不要在灌木丛、木材或草地附近生火;应在裸露的土壤和/或岩石上生火。
  • 刮风时不要焚烧杂物;火花会散开,在附近引发火灾。
  • 不要在热天割草(石头会在刀片上产生火花)。
  • 使用烟花的预防措施并保持最新的户外烧烤安全知识。
  • 当驾车经过火灾风险较高的地区时,确保你的车辆维护良好,不会对环境造成更大的风险(例如,从拖链上抛出火花)。
  • 不要将热车停在干燥的草地或杂物上,以免起火。
  • 了解BAER以及野火后的恢复过程是如何进行的。

野火与气候变化

随着大规模热浪袭击世界各大洲,打破温度记录,并迫使各国重新思考其能源消耗以及如何在极端天气下确保公民安全,难怪气候变化再次成为一个巨大的话题。自1950年以来,世界已经变暖了1.1摄氏度;这一趋势继续存在,除非立即采取行动,否则将继续下去。

随着世界继续变暖,我们很可能看到我们今天看到的相同模式得到加强。极端炎热导致严重干旱,使整个生态系统无法抵御野火和洪水等自然灾害。

但是,与相对直接的野火安全提示不同,你如何能够对像气候变化这样的大事情采取行动--特别是当影响已经快速而强烈地出现时?

  • 做好研究并听取专家的意见。我们可以一起建立社区的复原力,并帮助抵御野火等危险威胁。
  • 尽你所能,减少你的碳足迹。虽然气候变化需要在更大的范围内解决,但我们可以单独解决我们的习惯,以做出积极的改变。考虑你使用了多少水和能源,你产生了多少废物,以及你可以在哪些方面做出改变以减少你的足迹。
  • 与你的民选官员交谈。多说。打电话、发邮件、寄信--让你的地方和州代表知道气候变化是一个大问题,你希望他们对此有所行动。
  • 为您的财产制定野火后 恢复计划。与您社区的其他人分享这些计划,并鼓励他们也这样做。恢复计划可以帮助在损害发生前预防,并帮助社区更快地恢复。此外,您可能能够防止更多的问题发生,如洪水和水土流失。
  • 帮助恢复当地的生态系统。如果你住在野火袭击过的地区,恢复生态系统对于减少火灾对环境和健康的负面影响绝对是至关重要的。考虑种植对当前和未来气候变化更有弹性的本地树木和植物。

支持处于野火和气候变化前线的非营利组织

志愿者和捐赠。当涉及到自然灾害恢复时,这是两个最常见的行动呼吁。然而,由于野火所带来的独特危险,那些积极与火灾作斗争的人(以及帮助控制火路和协助火后威胁分析的科学家)是受雇的专业人员,而不是志愿者。

如果你想为支持野火后的社区和环境恢复做最大的努力,关键是要考虑到应对气候变化和建立环境复原力以减少全球变暖的负面影响的大局。我们把直接在这些领域工作的十个组织的名单放在一起,以帮助你参与其中,并立即产生积极影响。

美国森林协会正在帮助建立和恢复有弹性的森林,使其能够抵御野火、干旱和虫害。通过向公众提供林业研究资源,美国森林协会正在帮助防止自然灾害,如野火,产生如此巨大的负面影响。

国际养护组织在世界各国保护和养护数百万英亩的重要生境。这项工作的目标是通过恢复和加强自然和减少二氧化碳来稳定全球气候。该组织还促进对长期气候解决方案的投资。

保护整个太平洋西北地区的荒地、栖息地和野生动物,西北保护组织致力于保护和重新发展因人为和自然原因而面临风险的关键生态系统和栖息地。这项工作包括野火教育和预防

作为俄勒冈州唯一完全致力于保护哥伦比亚峡谷的保护组织,哥伦比亚峡谷之友正在帮助整个地区的自然生境和生态系统建立长期的复原力,以保护其免受气候变化的负面影响及其野火风险的增加。在2017年毁灭性的鹰溪大火后,志愿者组织在火后补救中发挥了重要作用。

国家森林基金在受到气候变化、自然灾害等负面影响或威胁的地区解决重新造林的迫切需求。国家森林基金致力于植树造林,教育人们了解他们当地的受保护森林,并确保国家森林保持开放空间,让每个人都能在未来的日子里欣赏到。

大自然保护协会2021年的一份报告概述了接近和投资于野生动物复原力的需求变化。TNC回顾了支持社区的迫切需要,即提供必要的教育和资源,以准备和减少野火的风险,以及必要的程序、立法等。TNC还将应对气候变化作为优先事项,并为个人、社区和政府做出积极改变提供有用的资源。

让每个人都能简单地植树,"一棵树 "是一个位于佛蒙特州的非营利组织,帮助减轻全世界的森林损失。OTP的百万植树挑战鼓励个人和企业种植更多的树木,以应对气候变化,协助野生动物保护和野火恢复。

在2020年俄勒冈州的大火中,超过一百万英亩的树木被烧毁,俄勒冈州永久公园一直在帮助重新种植烧毁的森林。重新种植树木有助于促进这些被破坏的景观中的清洁空气、水和土壤。

在美国各地,荒野协会保护相连的景观,解决由气候危机引起的问题,并教育社区保护做法。随着该组织收购和改善这些景观的维护,土地能够更好地自然抵御野火等灾害。

想了解更多关于成为 "地球共享 "非营利组织合作伙伴以及如何参与的信息?您知道有哪个以野火为重点的环保非营利组织应该被加入到这个名单中吗?请联系[email protected],与我们联系!

探索更多

要求演示

Thomas Fire, Ventura, CA, Los Padres NF, 2017. Original public domain image from Flickr

Wildfires, Climate Change, and Nonprofits Providing Relief

The Economic and Environmental Costs of Wildfires

The full scope of the dangers posed by wildfires can be as subtle as they are scary. We know these massive blazes destroy properties—homes, businesses, farms, historical sites—but this initial, physical destruction goes beyond burned buildings and scorched acres alone. The destruction of essential resources (water and gas lines, electrical wires) as well as the ecological harm left behind are all incredibly damaging to regions and can create long-lasting issues for those who once called these areas home.

In 2021 alone, the total cost to the U.S. as a result of wildfire suppression (firefighting) and damage reparation amounted to more than $4 billion. That takes a huge economic toll; especially when considering the long-lasting damage will continue to accrue costs as residents and municipalities attempt to find their “new normal.”

The environmental harm caused to a region can also create long-lasting financial issues. Areas where large swaths of trees and forests have been burned can have future issues with mudslides and flooding, where soil is loose and unable to absorb excess water from storms (or even the firefighting efforts themselves). Air and water quality issues can also present a significant (and expensive) threat to communities, posing health risks for those who live there. Large scale animal and habitat-loss can result in further damage to surviving ecosystems, making them more susceptive to disease and degradation.

What Causes Wildfires? How to Prevent Wildfires and What You Can Do to Help

To fully understand how humans can play a role in the battle against wildfires, we must first answer the most critical question: how do wildfires start?

Unfortunately, for approximately 85% of all recorded wildfires, the answer is: humans. From arson to the careless disposal of cigarette butts to unattended campfires, there is a wide array of ways humans have been known to ignite these fires. As bad as this statistic is, it also means there is a huge opportunity here for us—as people—to take responsibility and understand our role when it comes to preventing forest fires.

The truth is climate change is regularly increasing the risk of wildfires throughout the world. Today, “wildfire season” is year-round in many places due to regularly increasing temperatures and drought. If you live in a wildfire zone, help reduce the threat of fire on your property by hardening your home to ember intrusion and creating a defensible space clear of grass, trees, and shrubs around the perimeter.

Live in a wildfire zone? Visiting a region prone to fires? There is plenty you can do to help prevent fires, no matter where you are. First and foremost: be conscious of your surroundings. This means:

  • DO NOT light fires during droughts.
  • When exiting a campsite, make sure to FULLY extinguish the campfire (the embers should be cold to the touch).
  • DO NOT create a campfire near brush, timber, or grass; fires should be built over bare soil and/or rock.
  • DO NOT burn debris when it is windy; sparks can scatter and start fires nearby.
  • DO NOT mow on hot days (rocks can spark when hit with blades).
  • USE firework precautions and stay up to date on outdoor grilling safety.
  • When driving through areas at higher risk for fire, make sure your vehicle is well-maintained and does not pose a greater risk to the environment (e.g., throwing sparks from a tow chain).
  • DO NOT park a warm vehicle on dry grass or debris that could catch fire.
  • Educate yourself on BAER and how the post-wildfire recovery process works.

Wildfires and Climate Change

With massive heatwaves hitting continents around the world, breaking temperature records and forcing countries to rethink their energy consumption and how to ensure citizen safety during extreme weather, it’s no wonder that climate change has once again become a huge topic of conversation. Since 1950, the world has warmed by 1.1 degrees Celsius; a trend that continues to persist and will continue unless immediate action is taken.  

As the world continues to warm, we are likely to see the same patterns we see today intensified. Extreme heat leads to severe drought, making entire ecosystems unable to withstand natural disasters like wildfires and flooding.  

But, unlike wildfire safety tips which are relatively straightforward, how can you act against something as big as climate change—especially when the repercussions are already coming on fast and strong?  

  • Do your RESEARCH and LISTEN to the experts. Together, we can build community resilience and help protect against dangerous threats like wildfires.
  • Do your part to REDUCE your carbon footprint. While climate change needs to be addressed on a much bigger scale, we can individually address our habits to make a positive change. Consider how much water and energy you use, how much waste you produce, and where you can make changes to reduce your footprint.
  • SPEAK to your elected officials. A lot. Call, email, mail letters—let your local and state representatives know that climate change is a BIG problem, and you want them DO something about it.
  • Create post-wildfire recovery plans for your property. Share these with others in your community and encourage them to do the same. Recovery plans can help prevent damage before it occurs and help communities recover faster. Plus, you may be able to prevent additional problems from occurring, such as flooding and erosion.
  • Help restore local ecosystems. If you live in an area where wildfires have struck, restoring ecosystems is absolutely critical to reducing the negative environmental and health impacts of the fire. Consider planting native trees and plants that are more resilient to current and future climate change.

Support Nonprofits on the Frontlines of Wildfires and Climate Change

Volunteer and donate. These are the two most common calls-to-action when it comes to natural disaster recovery. However, due to the unique dangers posed by wildfires, those actively battling the fires (as well as the scientists who help to control fire paths and assist in post fire threat analysis) are employed professionals, not volunteers.  

If you want to do the most to support community and environmental recovery post-wildfire, it’s critical to think about the big picture of addressing climate change and building environmental resilience to reduce the negative effects of global warming. We’ve put together a list of ten organizations working directly in these spaces to help you get involved and make a positive impact right away.  

American Forests is helping to build and restore resilient forests that can stand up against wildfire, drought, and pests. By providing forestry research and resources to the public, American Forests is helping to prevent natural disasters, such as wildfires, from having such a drastically negative impact.

Conservation International protects and conserves millions of acres of critical habitats in countries around the world. The goal of this work is to stabilize the global climate through restoring and strengthening nature and reducing CO2. The organization also promotes investing in long-term climate solutions.

Protecting wildlands, habitats, and wildlife throughout the Pacific Northwest, Conservation Northwest is dedicated to preserving and redeveloping key ecosystems and habitats that are at risk due to both human and natural causes. This work includes wildfire education and prevention.

The only conservation organization dedicated entirely to protecting the Columbia Gorge in Oregon, Friends of the Columbia Gorge is helping to build long-term resilience for the natural habitats and ecosystems throughout the region in order to protect it from the negative impacts of climate change and its increased risk for wildfires. Volunteer organizing played a significant role in post-fire remediation after the devastating Eagle Creek fire in 2017.

NFF addresses the pressing need for reforestation in areas that have been negatively impacted or threatened by climate change, natural disasters, and more. The NFF works to plant trees, educate people about their local protected forests, and ensure the National Forests remain open spaces that can be appreciated by everyone for generations to come.

A 2021 report from The Nature Conservancy outlined a changing need for approaching and investing in wildlife resilience. TNC reviews the pressing need to support communities with the education and resources necessary to prepare for and reduce the risk of wildfires, as well as necessary procedures, legislation, and more. TNC also prioritizes tackling climate change and provides helpful resources for individuals, communities, and governments to make positive change.

Making it simple for everyone to plant trees, One Tree Planted is a Vermont-based nonprofit helping to mitigate forest loss around the world. OTP’s Million Tree Challenge encourages individuals and businesses to plant more trees to battle climate change and assist in wildlife conservation and wildfire recovery.

Oregon Parks Forever has been helping replant burned forests after the tragic Oregon fires in 2020, which burned more than one million acres of trees. Replanting trees helps with promoting clean air, water, and soil in these damaged landscapes.

Across America, The Wilderness Society conserves connected landscapes, tackling issues stemming from the climate crisis, and educating communities on conservation practices. As the organization acquires and improves the maintenance of these landscapes, the land is able to better naturally defend against disasters like wildfires.

Want more information about becoming an EarthShare Nonprofit Partner and how you can get involved? Know of a wildfire-focused environmental nonprofit that should be added to this list? Reach out to [email protected] to connect with us!

Explore More

Request a Demo