EarthShare - 洪水、气候变化和你能做的帮助

洪水、气候变化和你能做的帮助

  • 洪水是世界上最常见的自然灾害
  • 美国99%的县都受到洪水的影响
  • 自1950年以来,海平面已经上升了6.5英寸
    • 在全球范围内,这一数字仅略低于4″。
  • 城市化使雨水径流增加高达400%。

洪水是美国和世界各地最频繁发生的自然灾害。仅在今年,肯塔基州东部拉斯维加斯黄石国家公园欧洲澳大利亚韩国巴基斯坦以及--信不信由你--北极的高度破坏性洪水就造成了巨大的破坏和死亡。随着数百万人和野生动物流离失所,世界各地的政府和社区正试图确定如何继续前进。

事实是,洪水每年造成数十亿美元的损失(全球820亿美元),而且这一平均成本每年都在增加数十亿美元。这些灾难威胁着整个社区的生计,并对我们的自然环境造成破坏。而且情况不会变好。这是气候变暖带来的新常态。更加极端的天气模式正在全球范围内发生,包括极端干旱、更大的风暴系统,以及降水的增加(往往是突然的),导致洪水等自然灾害事件。

现在是时候仔细看看是什么导致了洪水,可以做些什么来预防它们,以及我们如何支持在气候变化和环境保护的前线工作的组织,以减少洪水的风险,并为现在正在受苦的社区和栖息地提供救济。

是什么导致了洪灾?

洪水几乎可以在任何地方发生,这就是为什么它是最常见的自然灾害。在其最基本的定义中,洪水只是"......水溢出到通常是干燥的土地上"(NOAA)。当水的涌入大于自然或人工排水系统所能处理的程度时,水就会积聚起来。这可能是由各种事件引起的,如在短时间内有大量的大雨,海浪上岸(如海啸),或人工或自然结构的失败,如水坝。

重力和水径流使低地特别容易发生洪水灾害,不过,如果情况合适,洪水几乎可以发生在世界的任何地方。

在洪水发生的各种方式中,山洪暴发是历史上最危险的。由于水流速度快,有时出乎意料,而且破坏力强,山洪暴发可以迅速造成很大的伤害。当大量的水被迅速引入一个局部环境时,水的堆积和土壤的退化和不稳定会成为致命的混合体。小溪和河流溢出,冲破河岸,向外喷水。在城市地区,没有那么多裸露的土地来吸收多余的水,水分散到地势最低的地方(通常是道路),排水和污水系统溢出,用废物污染被淹的地区。

民众站在洪水中

洪水的经济和环境成本

自1980年以来,美国已经花费了超过1万亿美元用于与洪水灾害有关的费用。私人住宅、商业建筑和企业、农田、工厂和制造厂、基础设施--没有什么可以幸免。停电、危险污染物的扩散和水传播疾病是洪水带来的其他风险。

自然栖息地和野生动物区也受到了严重的影响。动物因溺水而死亡,栖息地被破坏,动物流离失所,这些都是可以通过洪水繁殖的问题,对环境造成损害。而且,像陆地上的动物一样,水生生物也会被迁移;通过洪水迁移到不适合居住的地方,那里的生存率很低。

土壤侵蚀,既是土壤质量的降低,也是被削弱和退化的土壤的迁移,在非自然的土壤沉积发生时造成问题。

堆积会导致自然栖息地(如溪流和天然水坝)的堵塞,使水无法被正确过滤,并降低了整体水质。随着水中沉积物的增多,盐分和其他矿物质过多,栖息地可能不习惯,使植物、野生动物和农业面临更大风险。根据美国自然资源保护委员会,美国正在失去土壤,特别是表土,大约是它可以被补充的速度的10倍,每年大约花费370亿美元

淹没的道路和封闭的标志

洪水和气候变化

由于气候变化,科学家预测美国的洪泛区(面临更大洪水风险的低洼地区)在下个世纪将增加高达45%,使更多的社区处于危险境地。这个总数将包括所有城市土地的17%。这主要是在中西部和东北部以及沿海地区,那里的洪水在短短几十年内增加了一倍

全球气温变暖导致水的蒸发量增加,这反过来又导致被困在大气中的湿度和水蒸气增加,以及更多的极端降水。虽然暴雨不一定会导致洪水,但它肯定会增加山洪暴发的可能性--特别是在脱水和野火后的地貌以及经历干旱的地区,那里的土壤不太能接受突然的大量水。

寒冷地区的融雪加速也会增加洪水的风险,特别是当春季地面仍然基本冻结,无法吸收融化的水径流时。

在迅速变化的气候的推动下,温度和降水的这些波动一直在改变我们全球生态系统中水的位置。当像美国东海岸这样的地方正在增加降水时,西海岸同时正在失去降水并进入越来越极端的干旱,导致其他毁灭性的自然灾害,如野火

那么,我们能做什么来阻止它呢?

你能做什么

在每一次因气候变化而变得更糟的自然灾害的核心,重要的是我们个人,更重要的是在社区层面,正在进行积极的环境改变,如减少我们的碳足迹,产生更少的废物,以及利用清洁能源。

但是,特别是当涉及到洪水时,怎么办?你能做些什么来防止你的家庭和社区发生水灾?

  • 不要在洪泛区建房。虽然现在看起来是个好主意,但随着美国各地洪泛区面积和范围的增加,你的财产--甚至可能是你的生命--可能会在几年内陷入危险。
  • 提升和 "防洪 "你的房子。将你的草坪平整,远离你的房子,安装一个抽水机,清除排水管中的杂物(水口应将水引向远离你的房子)和你的地基周围。
  • 支持保护土壤的农业。可持续农业和免耕耕作等做法促进土壤健康,从而增加土壤强度和吸水能力。
  • 购买洪水保险。平均来说,购买了洪水保险的房主,如果他们的房屋遭遇洪水破坏,由于损失的成本很高,他们最初的保险投资可以得到五倍的回报。目前,只有不到2%的美国人投保了洪水保险。
  • 与你的民选官员交谈,让他们听到你的声音。要求提供最新的洪水地图, 基础设施并清除所有的有害物质,以避免水污染。 一个更安全、更 准备 社区。
奶牛站在洪水上方的房屋门廊上

非营利组织在洪灾的前线

有一些了不起的非营利组织在辛勤工作,帮助教育社区,开发新的解决方案,并修复因洪水而被严重破坏的生态系统。

志愿服务和捐赠给这些组织可以在很大程度上帮助支持他们的关键任务,并帮助抵御洪水和气候变化的负面影响。我们已经把九个非营利组织的名单放在一起,这些组织将洪水预防、教育和救济作为其社区和整个美国的首要任务。看看他们吧

国家

美国河流协会专注于保存和保护健康的河流,恢复被破坏的河流,并为人们和社区保存清洁的水,它处理气候变化对我们水域的威胁,并专注于为所有人提供平等获得清洁、安全的水。

德州

河口土地保护协会保护和保存沿河土地,以更好地控制洪水,保护野生动物,并保持水的清洁。通过帮助社区和自然栖息地抵御洪水,河口土地保护协会能够支持人类和地球的福祉。

康涅狄格州

康涅狄格河保护协会的使命是保护清洁的水、健康的栖息地,并支持繁荣的社区。该组织活跃在四个州,帮助保护整个康涅狄格河流域,防止污染,促进环境健康,并支持负责任地享受河流及其支流。

密歇根州

致力于教育社区了解鲁日河及其流域的重要性--曾经是密歇根州污染最严重的河流--鲁日河之友帮助恢复、保护和加强流域,设想一个更清洁、更健康的鲁日河生态系统,以造福子孙后代。

路易斯安那州

低地中心以路易斯安那河口为中心,支持保护这些低地和几十年来以这些地方为家的原住民和不同的历史群体。通过利用传统的生态知识和提供必要的技术支持,低地中心承担了减少危险、适应气候和重新安置那些因洪水和其他灾害事件而受到不利影响的人的工作。

国家

自然资源保护委员会(NRDC)将律师、科学家和倡导者的力量与数百万热衷于环境的个人结合起来,帮助与当今发生的一些最大的气候问题和自然灾害作斗争。这些努力包括争取州和联邦政策,考虑增加洪水风险以及洪水保险改革以支持社区和环境。

罗得岛

拯救海湾 "一直致力于建设一个更健康、更清洁、更安全的纳拉甘赛特湾,让任何想享受罗德岛最重要的水体之一的人都能平等地进入。起初是一个反对拟议中的炼油厂的草根组织,现在是一个专注于宣传、教育和生境恢复的热情的个人网络。

国家

气候变化及其影响是忧思科学家联盟的主要焦点之一。UCS教育世界各地的个人和社区成员了解海平面上升、洪水风险,以及如果我们对这些固有的问题无动于衷,我们可能面临的全部负面气候影响

路易斯安那州

水务专业人员和社区倡导者一起工作,教育社区成员,并在整个海湾南部实施绿色基础设施项目和解决方案,该地区经常受到洪水的困扰。从气候变化到雨水管理,Water Wise Gulf South正在帮助清洁水道,改善空气质量,加强社区的宜居性,以及更多。

洪水期间保持安全的步骤

当洪水真的发生时,确保你采取了适当的预防措施。如果你的家庭或社区发生水灾,一定要遵循CDC的这些建议

  • 当你接触到洪水时,请确保彻底清洗你的双手
  • 不要在洪水中行驶(仅仅6英寸的积水就足以使你的汽车停滞不前)。
  • 不要让儿童或宠物靠近洪水。
  • 由于受到污染的风险很大,不要用洪水来饮用、洗澡或做饭
  • 在接触洪水之前,清洁并彻底包扎任何开放的伤口
  • 在洪水周围穿上防护服(只要有可能)。
  • 对于家里受洪水影响的地方,要用风扇、除湿机等尽可能彻底地烘干这些空间

想了解更多关于成为 "地球共享 "非营利组织合作伙伴以及如何参与的信息?你知道有哪些以洪水或水为重点的环保非营利组织应该被添加到这个名单中?请联系[email protected]与我们联系!

探索更多

要求演示

EarthShare - Flooding, Climate Change, and What You Can Do to Help

Flooding, Climate Change, and What You Can Do to Help

  • Flooding is the most common natural disaster in the world
  • 99% of U.S. counties are impacted by floods
  • There has been a 6.5″ sea level rise since 1950
    • Globally, this number is just shy of 4″
  • Urbanization increases rain runoff by up to 400%

Flooding is the most frequently occurring natural disaster in the U.S. and around the world. This year alone, there has been immense destruction—and death—from the highly damaging floods in eastern Kentucky, Las Vegas, Yellowstone National Park, Europe, Australia, South Korea, Pakistan, and—believe it or not—the Arctic. With millions of people and wildlife displaced, governments and communities worldwide are trying to determine how to move forward.

The truth is flooding costs billions of dollars every year (approximately $82 billion globally), and this average cost has been increasing by billions year-over-year. These disasters threaten the livelihoods of entire communities and wreak havoc on our natural environment. And it’s not going to get better. This is the new normal created by a warming climate. Patterns of more extreme weather are taking place across the globe, including extreme droughts, larger storm systems, and increased precipitation (often suddenly) leading to natural disaster events like flooding.

It’s time to take a closer look at what causes floods, what can be done to prevent them, and how we can support organizations working on the frontlines of climate change and environmental conservation to reduce the risk of flooding and provide relief to communities and habitats that are suffering now.

What Causes Flooding?

Flooding can happen just about anywhere, which is why it’s the most common natural disaster. At its most basic definition, a flood is simply “…the overflowing of water onto land that is normally dry” (NOAA). When there is an influx of water larger than what natural or manmade drainage systems can handle, it builds up. This can be caused by various events such as a significant amount of heavy rain in a short time period, ocean waves coming to shore (e.g., tsunamis), or the failure of a manmade or natural structure, such as a dam.

Gravity and water runoff make lowlands particularly primed for flood disasters, though, if the circumstances are right, flooding can happen in just about any location in the world.

Of the various ways flooding can occur, flash flooding is historically the most dangerous. Fast, sometimes unexpected, and highly destructive due to water travelling at great speeds, flash flooding can do a lot of harm quickly. When a large quantity of water is introduced rapidly to a localized environment, water build-up and soil degradation and instability can become a deadly mix. Creeks and rivers overflow, breaching their banks and sending water outward. In urban areas where there is less exposed earth to absorb excess water, water disperses to the lowest-lying areas (often roadways), and drainage and sewage systems overflow, contaminating flooded areas with waste.

people stand in flood waters

The Economic and Environmental Costs of Flooding

Since 1980, America has spent more than $1 trillion on costs associated with flood disasters. Private homes, commercial buildings and businesses, farmlands, factories and manufacturing plants, infrastructure—nothing is immune. Power outages, the spread of dangerous contaminants, and waterborne diseases are other risks posed by flooding.

Natural habitats and wildlife areas are also severely affected. The death of animals due to drowning, habitat destruction, and animal displacement are all issues that can be propagated by flooding and detrimental to the environment. And, like animals on land, aquatic life can also be displaced; moved via floodwaters to uninhabitable locations where survival rates are low.

Soil erosion, both the diminished quality of soil as well as the relocation of weakened and degraded soils, causes issues where unnatural soil deposits occur.

Build-up can lead to blockages in the natural habitat (such as streams and natural dams), which prevent water from being properly filtered out and decreases the overall water quality. With more sediment in the water comes an overabundance of salt and other minerals that a habitat may not be used to, putting plants, wildlife and agriculture at greater risk. According to the NRDC, America is losing soil, particularly topsoil, at approximately ten times the rate it can be replenished, costing roughly $37 billion every year.

flooded road with closed sign

Flooding and Climate Change

As a result of climate change, scientists predict floodplains in the U.S. (low-lying areas at greater risk for flooding) to increase by up to 45% over the next century, putting more communities in harm’s way. This total will include 17% of all urban land. This is primarily true in the Midwest and Northeast as well as coastal regions where flooding has doubled in just a few decades.

Warming global temperatures lead to increased water evaporation which, in turn, leads to an increase in humidity and water vapor trapped in the atmosphere, and more extreme precipitation. While heavy rainfall does not necessarily result in flooding, it certainly increases the potential for flash flooding—especially in dehydrated and post-wildfire landscapes and areas experiencing drought where the soil is less primed to accept a sudden large quantity of water.

Accelerated snowmelt in colder landscapes can also increase the risk of flooding, especially when the spring ground is still largely frozen and cannot absorb the melted water runoff.

These fluctuations in temperature and precipitation, fueled by a rapidly changing climate, have been shifting where water resides in our global ecosystems. While places like the U.S.’s East Coast are gaining precipitation, the West Coast is simultaneously losing it and entering into more and more extreme droughts, leading to other devastating natural disasters such as wildfires.

So, what can we do to stop it?

What You Can Do

At the core of every natural disaster made worse by climate change, it is important that we individually, and—more importantly—at the community level, are making positive environmental changes like reducing our carbon footprint, producing less waste, and utilizing clean energy.

But what about when it comes to flooding in particular? What can you do to prevent flooding in your home and community?

  • Do not build in floodplains. While it may seem like a good idea now, your property—and possibly even your life—may be put in danger in a matter of years as the size and scope of floodplains across America increase.
  • Elevate and “flood-proof” your home. Grade your lawn away from your home, install a sump pump, clear away debris from drainage pipes (spouts should direct water away from your house) and around the perimeter of your foundation.
  • Don’t rely solely on levees. If you live in a region where river or ocean levees are common practice (which includes more than 100,000 miles of U.S. land), make sure you are prepared for potential flooding should the levee break—an occurrence that is becoming more common.
  • Support agriculture that preserves soil. Sustainable agriculture and practices like no-till farming promote soil health, which increases soil strength and water absorption.
  • Purchase flood insurance. On average, homeowners with flood insurance who experience flood damage to their homes see five times the return on their initial insurance investment due to the high costs of damages. Currently, less than 2% of Americans are covered with flood insurance.
  • Speak to your elected officials and make your voice heard. Demand up-to-date flood maps, water infrastructure, and remove all hazardous materials to avoid water contamination for a safer, more prepared community.  
cows stand on house porch above flood waters

Nonprofits on the Frontlines of Flooding

There are amazing nonprofits working diligently to help educate communities, develop new solutions, and repair ecosystems that have been significantly damaged as a result of flooding.

Volunteering and donating to these organizations can go a long way to help support their critical missions and to help counteract the negative effects of flooding and climate change. We’ve put together a list of nine nonprofits making flood prevention, education, and relief top priorities for their communities and for America as a whole. Check them out!

National

Focused on preserving and protecting healthy rivers, restoring damaged rivers, and conserving clean water for people and communities, American Rivers addresses the threats of climate change on our waters and focuses on providing equal access to clean, safe water for all.

Texas

Bayou Land Conservancy protects and preserves land along streams in order to better control flooding, protect wildlife, and keep water cleaner. By helping communities and natural habitats defend against flooding, Bayou Land Conservancy is able to support the wellbeing of both people and planet.

Connecticut

Connecticut River Conservancy is on a mission to protect clean water, healthy habitats, and support thriving communities. Active in four states, the organization helps protect the entirety of the Connecticut River watershed, preventing pollution, promoting environmental health, and supporting the responsible enjoyment of the river and its tributaries.

Michigan

Dedicated to educating the community on the importance of the Rouge River and its watershed—once the most polluted river in Michigan—Friends of Rouge River helps to restore, protect, and enhance the watershed, envisioning a cleaner, healthier Rouge River ecosystem that will benefit generations to come.

Louisiana

Centered in the Louisiana bayous, Lowland Center supports the conservation of these lowlands and the Indigenous and diverse historied groups who have called them home for decades. By using traditional ecological knowledge and providing the necessary technological support, Lowland Center takes on hazard reduction, climate adaptation, and resettlement for those whose homes are negatively impacted by flooding and other disaster events.

National

Natural Resources Defense Council (NRDC) combines the power of lawyers, scientists, and advocates with millions of individuals passionate about the environment to help battle some of the largest climate issues and natural disasters occurring today. These efforts include fighting for state and federal policies that consider increased flood risks as well as flood insurance reform to support communities and the environment.

Rhode Island

Save the Bay has been working toward a healthier, cleaner, safer Narragansett Bay that can be equally accessed by anyone who wants to enjoy one of Rhode Island’s most important bodies of water. What started as a grassroots organization fighting against a proposed oil refinery is now a network of passionate individuals focusing on advocacy, education, and habitat restoration.

National

Climate Change and its repercussions is one of the leading focuses for the Union of Concerned Scientists. UCS educates individuals and community members throughout the world about sea level rises, flood risks, and the full scale of negative climate impacts we may face if we do nothing about these inherent problems.

Louisiana

Water professionals and community advocates work together to educate community members and implement green infrastructure projects and solutions throughout the Gulf South, which is an area plagued by regular flooding. From climate change to stormwater management, Water Wise Gulf South is helping to clean waterways, improve air quality, strengthen community livability, and much more.

Steps to Stay Safe During a Flood

When a flood does happen, make sure you are taking the proper precautions. In the case of a flood in your home or community, be sure to follow these CDC recommendations:

  • Make sure to thoroughly wash your hands any time you come into contact with floodwater
  • DO NOT drive through floodwater (just 6 inches of standing water is enough to make your car stall out)
  • DO NOT let children or pets near floodwater  
  • DO NOT use floodwater for drinking, bathing, or cooking due to high risk of contamination
  • Clean and thoroughly wrap any open wounds before coming into contact with floodwater
  • Wear protective clothing when around floodwater (whenever possible)
  • For areas of your home affected by floodwater, dry these spaces as thoroughly as possible using fans, dehumidifiers, etc.

Want more information about becoming an EarthShare Nonprofit Partner and how you can get involved? Know of a flood or water-focused environmental nonprofit that should be added to this list? Reach out to [email protected] to connect with us!

Explore More

Request a Demo