木凳上的园艺手套

寻找合适的非营利组织合作伙伴的7个步骤

世界上有这么多的非营利组织,你如何选择合适的合作伙伴来实现你的商业目标,同时也能与你的消费者产生共鸣?你可能有一个你在个人生活中支持的非营利组织,但它对你的专业团体是否意味着什么?你如何选择一个能帮助你吸引你的员工,同时也能激励你的客户的组织?你考虑的非营利组织是否有兴趣以你想要的所有方式与你合作,从志愿服务,到捐赠,到充分利用实物捐赠,等等?

这些都是你在与非营利组织建立伙伴关系之前必须要问的基本问题。这些问题将确保你所支持的使命和组织真正与你的价值观、目标和对更美好未来的愿景相一致。

评估潜在的合作伙伴时要问的基本问题

非营利组织的使命是什么?

他们的使命是否与你的企业的使命一致?例如,一家生产用于储存食物的保鲜膜的天然替代品的公司可能希望与一家致力于减少食物浪费的非营利组织合作。在这个例子中,两个组织所做的工作是互补的。与诸如保护大猩猩的基金合作,虽然是一项了不起的事业,但效果并不理想。在一天结束时,你需要能够回答 "为什么"。为什么要与这个组织合作以产生这种影响?如果答案不是显而易见和不言自明的,那么你可能需要重新考虑伙伴关系的一致性。

你的目标和文化是否相互补充? 

当谈到形成伙伴关系时,你要认真考虑合作方式。在一天结束时,与一个重视类似工作方法和思维方式的组织合作,将提高效率,并帮助推动你成为你最好的。虽然与一个对可交付成果和项目有不同的整体方法的非营利组织合作并非不可能,但它肯定会使这个过程更加困难。例如,假设你的企业培养了一个包容性和协作性的工作环境,而你与一个拥有更多正式和规范文化的非营利组织合作,那么在一起工作会是什么样子?这个组织是否会提供最适合你的公司的志愿者活动类型?你的员工?这当然值得考虑。

你的客户或顾客看重什么?

如果你不知道,那就问他们吧!投资解决一个问题总是好的,但如果你的听众不关心手头的问题,从底线和影响的角度来看,你的努力是否得到了最大的回报?弄清楚什么对你的利益相关者最重要。这是值得努力的,因为一旦你这样做了,你会发现你的团队和你的外部受众都更有可能加入到你公司的故事和倡议中。

对这项事业是否有同样的兴奋点? 

参与项目的每个人都应该对合作关系充满热情;你的员工、你选择合作的非营利组织,甚至是你的观众。这将使伙伴关系的价值最大化,并创造一种社区和合作的感觉。如果你曾经参与过能量和兴奋度不平衡的项目,你可能知道这可能导致不平衡的工作量,不合格的结果--甚至随着时间的推移,缺乏热情。这些事情对企业和非营利组织都没有好处。最好的办法是一开始就确保每个人都是一致的,有动力的,并且渴望开始。

目标的定义是否透明? 

每当与非营利组织合作时,了解共同的最终目标是很重要的。你的企业和非营利组织需要有相同的目标(或者,至少是类似的目标),而且这些目标从一开始就需要透明和明确界定。如果你可以把钱投入到你和你的员工所相信的事业中,那很好。然而,如果你想让非营利组织支持,例如,一个限量版的产品或使用他们的标志来增加捐款,并为你的品牌创造知名度,你必须有一个明确的谅解备忘录(MOU)。

该组织的财务状况是否良好?

首先,他们是否经过了审查?尽管我们愿意认为任何自称是非营利组织的组织都有良好的信誉,但事实是,这并不总是如此。出于这个原因,EarthShare对任何申请成为我们网络中的非营利伙伴的非营利组织进行彻底审查,核实慈善机构的地位、财务和管理方面。(如果你选择与我们的非营利组织合作,你可以自动享受到这一好处!)审查过程也将帮助你确认你的公司价值和非营利组织的价值是否紧密结合。

非营利组织应在美国国税局注册为501(c)(3),以便商业伙伴获得税收优惠;这一点将通过审查加以确认。然后,你可以查看公开的990表报告,这将提供一个年度快照,以了解该非营利组织目前是否财务稳定。理想情况下,当你建立伙伴关系时,你正在建立一些长期的东西。你需要知道你的合作伙伴是否会在未来几年内继续合作。

成功合作的四个原则

正直、热情、卓越和承诺。

在选择非营利性合作伙伴时,选择一个具备这些特征并符合你的公司和员工的信念的组织,将导致一个真实的伙伴关系,在内部和你的消费者中产生共鸣。

一个真实的、经过深思熟虑的慈善合作关系将对公司在市场中的地位产生积极影响,提高员工的满意度,并促进财务增长。利用有助于发展这些关系的工具,如EarthShare的捐赠和参与平台所提供的工具,将使你不仅能够让你的员工参与进来,而且能够与非营利组织进行营销和建立真正的关系。

对现有的合作关系有疑问吗?好奇在EarthShare网络中是否有适合你的组织?请与我们联系,regional@earthshare.org,以获得支持。

分享

探索更多

订阅月刊

30x30 非营利合作伙伴

全国青年农民联盟

30x30 定义

宜居土地

30x30 定义

再生农业

gardening gloves on wooden bench

7 Steps for Finding the Right Nonprofit Partner

With so many nonprofits in the world, how do you choose the right partner for achieving your business goals while also resonating with your consumers? You might have a nonprofit you support in your personal life, but will it mean something to your professional community? How do you choose an organization that helps you engage your employees while also inspiring your customers? Is the nonprofit you’re considering interested in working with you in all the ways you want, from volunteerism, to donations, to making the most of in-kind gifts, etc.?

These are all essential questions you MUST ask before entering into a partnership with a nonprofit. These will ensure you’re supporting a mission and an organization that is truly aligned with your values, goals, and vision for a brighter future

Essential Questions to Ask When Evaluating a Potential Partner

What's the mission of the nonprofit?

Does their mission align with your business’ mission? For example, a company producing a natural alternative to plastic wrap for food storage might want to partner with a nonprofit that works to reduce food waste. In this example, the work that both organizations are doing is complementary. Partnering with—say—a fund for gorilla protection, although an amazing cause, simply doesn’t work as well. At the end of the day, you need to be able to answer “why.” Why partner with THIS organization to have THIS impact? If the answer is not obvious and self-explanatory, then you may need to reconsider the alignment of the partnership.

Do your goals and culture complement one another? 

When it comes to forming partnerships, you’ll want to seriously consider collaboration style. At the end of the day, teaming up with an organization that values a similar working approach and mindset will increase efficiency and help push you to be your best. While certainly not impossible to partner with a nonprofit with a different overall approach to deliverables and projects, it could certainly make the process more difficult. For example, let’s say your business fosters an inclusive and collaborative work environment and you team up with a nonprofit that has a much more formal and regimented culture, what will it be like to work together? Will this organization provide the type of volunteer events and activities that are best suited for your company? Your employees? This is certainly worth considering.

What do your customers or clients value?

If you don’t know, ask them! Investing in a solution to a problem is always nice, but if your audience doesn’t care about the issue at hand, are you getting the most out of this effort from a bottom line and impact point of view? Figure out what matters most to your stakeholders. It’s worth the effort because, once you do, you will find that both your team and your external audiences are far more likely to jump on board with your company’s story and initiatives.

Is there equal excitement for the cause? 

Everyone involved with the project should be passionate about the partnership; your employees, the nonprofit you choose to work with, and even your audience. This will maximize the partnership’s value and create a feeling of community and cooperation. If you’ve ever been involved in projects where there is an imbalance of energy and excitement, you may know that it can lead to an unbalanced workload, subpar outcomes —even a lack of enthusiasm over time. None of these things benefit the business or the nonprofit. It’s far better to start off by making sure that everyone is aligned, motivated, and eager to get started.

Are the goals transparently defined? 

Whenever partnering with a nonprofit, it is important to understand shared end-goals. Your business and the nonprofit need to have the same target (or, at the very least, similar targets), and these need to be transparent and clearly defined from the very beginning. If you are okay with putting money into a cause you and your staff believe in, that’s great. However, if you want the nonprofit to support, for example, a limited-edition product or use their logo to increase donations and create awareness for your brand, you must have a clear memorandum of understanding (MOU).

Is the organization financially sound?

To start, have they been vetted? As much as we’d like to think that any organization claiming to be a nonprofit is in good standing, the truth is, this is not always the case. For this reason, EarthShare thoroughly vets any nonprofit applying to become a Nonprofit Partner in our network, verifying charity status, financial, and governance aspects. (An automatic perk you can take advantage of if you choose to work with one of our nonprofits!) The vetting process will also help you confirm whether your company values and the values of the nonprofit are closely aligned.

The nonprofit should be registered with the IRS as a 501(c)(3) for the business partner to receive tax benefits; something that will be confirmed through vetting. You can then view publicly available Form 990 reporting which will provide an annual snapshot into whether the nonprofit is currently financially stable. Ideally, when you create partnerships, you’re building something for the long-term. You need to know if your partner will be there to collaborate in the years ahead.

Four Principles for Successful Collaboration

Integrity, passion, excellence, and commitment.

When it comes to selecting a nonprofit partner, choosing an organization that possesses these traits and fits your company’s and employees’ beliefs will lead to an authentic partnership that resonates both internally and with your consumers.

An authentic and well thought-out charitable partnership will be positive for a company’s position within the marketplace, boost employee satisfaction, and promote financial growth. Leveraging tools that help develop these relationships, such as those provided by EarthShare’s Giving & Engagement Platform, will allow you to not only engage your employees, but market and create true relationships with nonprofits.

Have questions about an existing partnership? Curious if there is an organization within the EarthShare network that is right for you? Reach out to us at [email protected] for support.

Explore More

Request a Demo