地球共享 - 8个为可持续农业奋斗的非营利组织

7个为可持续农业奋斗的非营利组织

我们社会的农业实践有严重的环境后果,从森林砍伐和土壤退化到大规模污染。从1992年到2012年,将近3100万英亩的农业用地因城市发展而不可逆转地丧失。每年,估计有40亿吨土壤和1300亿吨水被美国农田污染,变得无法生存,并造成超过270亿美元的整体经济损失。

全球粮食系统也需要更有弹性,以满足不断增长的人类人口的需求。到2050年,对食物、能源甚至纤维的需求预计将增加70%

很明显,我们的农业系统承载了许多系统性的社会问题。例如,尽管现代世界取得了进步,但7.4亿全球公民仍然面临极端贫困。在美国,由于许多目前的农业工作者很快就会退出这个行业,农民的数量正变得严重短缺。现在美国农民的平均年龄是57.5岁。除此之外,土地所有权也是大量的白人,这是长期以来种族主义、压迫和剥削有色人种社区的结果,一直持续到今天。

然而,尽管农业有巨大的负面影响,但它也有巨大的潜力成为帮助创造一个更加公正和可持续的地球的关键解决方案之一。

地球共享的许多以农业为重点的非营利性合作伙伴了解这一点,并利用可持续、有机和再生农业的形式;不仅种植食物,而且改善生态系统,治愈我们的气候,并向全国各地的社区公平地提供健康食品。

美国农业领域的非营利组织

下面的名单突出了七个专门的组织,他们每天都在努力发展对经济和社会有益的食品系统,促进美国各地社区平等、公平地获得新鲜食品。

农业管理协会

纽约

农业管理协会专注于将人们与土地联系起来,保护社区的工作农场和森林(迄今超过27,000英亩),并促进整个纽约州农业和工业的充满活力的未来。

乔治亚有机物

乔治亚州

佐治亚州有机协会将佐治亚州农场的有机食品与佐治亚州的家庭联系起来。作为直接与小型有机农场合作的最古老的全州性非营利组织,佐治亚州有机协会的工作重点是投资和促进有机农业的发展,以促进佐治亚州社区和土地的健康。

全国青年农民联盟

纽约

全国青年农民联盟正在努力改造农业,将权力转移到更加多样化、注重健康的青年工人群体手中,并改变政策,为新一代工作农民和牧场主提供公平的资源。

费城果园项目

宾夕法尼亚州 

费城果园项目在费城全市范围内种植和支持社区果园,倡导由社区主导的努力,通过创造美丽和丰饶的城市果园和绿色空间来改善获得新鲜食物的机会。

芝加哥工厂

伊利诺伊州

芝加哥植物园为个人和企业提供他们所需的工具,使其生活更加可持续。该组织开展了各种计划和研究项目,其基本目标是创造一个更加循环的经济(在一个经济部门产生的废物能够在另一个部门重新使用)。

可持续食品中心

德州

可持续食品中心帮助培养一个公正和再生的食品系统,以滋养个人、社区和环境。这项工作直接支持中小型农场,使它们能够茁壮成长,支持一个更健康的地球。

耕作联盟

华盛顿

Tilth联盟致力于与华盛顿州的农民、园丁、种植者以及食用所产作物的人一起建立一个生态良好、经济可行、社会公平的食品系统。Tilth联盟相信重视土地并促进平等使用土地的权利。

这七家非营利组织每天都在努力工作,帮助转变、振兴和刷新农业产业,以便为一个更加公正和可持续的未来做好准备。这份名单中是否缺少我们应该包括的非营利组织?请联系我们,nonprofits@earthshare.org,让我们知道。

有兴趣了解更多关于EarthShare的非营利性合作伙伴网络?请查看更多像这样的文章。致力于野火恢复的非营利组织

分享

探索更多

订阅月刊

30x30 非营利合作伙伴

全国青年农民联盟

30x30 定义

宜居土地

30x30 定义

再生农业

EarthShare - 8 Nonprofits Fighting for Sustainable Agriculture

7 Nonprofits Fighting for Sustainable Agriculture

Our society’s agricultural practices have SERIOUS environmental consequences, from deforestation and soil degradation to mass pollution. Between 1992 and 2012, almost 31 million acres of agriculture land were irreversibly lost to urban development. Every year, an estimated 4 billion tons of soil and 130 billion tons of water are contaminated by U.S. croplands, becoming unviable and creating an overall economic loss of more than $27 billion.

The global food system also needs to be more resilient in order to meet the needs of a constantly growing human population. By 2050, demands for food, energy—even fiber—are expected to increase up to 70%.

It’s clear that our agricultural system is host to many systemic social issues. For example, despite the advances of the modern world, 740 million global citizens continue to face extreme poverty. In the United States, there is becoming a severe shortage of farmers as many current agriculturalists will soon age out of the industry. The average American farmer is now 57.5 years of age. On top of that, land ownership is also heavily white, the result of a long history of racism, oppression, and exploitation of communities of color that continues to this day.

Yet, despite agriculture’s enormous negative impacts, it also has enormous potential to be one of the key solutions to helping create a more just and sustainable planet.

Many of EarthShare’s agriculturally focused Nonprofit Partners understand this and leverage forms of sustainable, organic, and regenerative agriculture; not just to grow food, but to improve ecosystems, heal our climate, and provide healthy food equitably to communities across the country.

U.S. Nonprofits in the Agricultural Space

The following list highlights seven dedicated organizations who are working every day to develop food systems that are economically and societally beneficial and promote equal, fair access to fresh foods for communities across the United States.

Agricultural Stewardship Association

New York

Focused on connecting people to the land, Agricultural Stewardship Association protects communities’ working farms and forests (more than 27,000 acres to date) and promotes a vibrant future for agriculture and industry throughout New York State.

Georgia Organics

Georgia

Georgia Organics connects organic food from Georgia farms to Georgia families. As the oldest state-wide nonprofit working directly with small and organic farms, Georgia Organics’ focus is to invest in and promote organic farming for the health of both Georgia communities and the land.

National Young Farmers Coalition

New York

National Young Farmers Coalition is working to transform agriculture, shifting power into the hands of a more diverse, health-focused group of young workers, and changing policy to equitably resource a new generation of working farmers and ranchers.

Philadelphia Orchard Project

Pennsylvania 

Planting and supporting community orchards throughout the city of Philadelphia, Philadelphia Orchard Project champions community-led efforts to improve access to fresh food through creating beautiful and bountiful urban orchards and green spaces.

Plant Chicago

Illinois

Plant Chicago equips individuals and businesses with the tools they need to live more sustainably. The organization runs a variety of programs and research projects with the underlying goal of creating a more circular economy (where waste generated in one sector of the economy is capable of being reused in another).

Sustainable Food Center

Texas

Sustainable Food Center helps to cultivate a just and regenerative food system to nourish individuals, communities, and the environment. This work directly supports small-to-mid-sized farms so they can thrive and support a healthier planet.

Tilth Alliance

Washington

Tilth Alliance works to build an ecologically sound, economically viable, and socially equitable food system alongside Washington farmers, gardeners, growers, and those who eat the crops produced. Tilth Alliance believes in valuing the land and promoting equal access to it.

These seven nonprofits work hard every day to help transform, revitalize, and refresh the agricultural industry in order to prepare for a more just and sustainable future. Is a nonprofit missing from this list that we should include? Let us know by reaching out to us at [email protected].

Interested in learning more about EarthShare’s Nonprofit Partner Network? Check out more articles just like this one: Nonprofits Working on Wildfire Recovery.

Explore More

Request a Demo