儿童在餐桌上吃健康的盒饭
孩子们在小学里吃午餐

解决学校午餐问题如何防止每年有53万吨垃圾被填埋  

虽然今天的 "便利 "文化当然有它的好处--一切都在我们的指尖上--但它当然值得考虑这种便利的影响和额外成本;经济、人类和环境。以学校午餐为例。要抵制儿童大小的扔掉的东西可能很困难,特别是当孩子们经常被直接针对他们的彩色广告所吸引,并乞求你为他们购买这些产品。但所有这些包装乘以全国成千上万的学生和学校,就会产生大量的额外浪费

每学年,携带盒饭的学生平均产生多少垃圾?大约67磅的垃圾。这加起来,平均规模的小学一年产生的废物超过18,000磅。世界野生动物基金会估计,仅美国学校的食物浪费每年就达53万吨

当食物和午餐产品被浪费时,我们不仅创造了最终被填埋的物理废物,而且还浪费了创造或种植该产品/食物所需的所有自然资源。从种植一个苹果所需的水、土壤和营养物质,到制造一个塑料午餐袋所需的水、电和有毒化学品。

我们必须做得更好。但如何做呢?

帮助你开始的提示

  • 购买一个持久的午餐袋。 争取购买用环保材料制成的产品,并增加隔热材料,以便在炎热的天气中保持食物冰爽,在寒冷的天气中保持温暖。

  • 投资于不含BPA和PCV的可重复使用的容器。 从饮料瓶到三明治 "袋",你都可以反复使用,前期的投资将得不偿失。而且你越能消除塑料,就越好。今天,有一些惊人的玻璃、不锈钢、竹子、布和蜡的选择。

  • 选择耐用、可清洗的布餐巾和真正的银器。 当然,孩子们可能会时不时地丢失一个叉子,但从长远来看,这比扔掉那些纸和塑料要好得多。此外,现在有这么多有趣的餐巾纸设计,孩子们不会想失去它们。

  • 选择你的孩子不太可能浪费的食物。好吧,当然,说起来容易做起来难,对吗?特别是如果您的孩子经常发现他们很难对自己想要的东西下定决心。试着提供各种小份的食物,在家里探索更多类型的食物,然后再送去做午餐。你甚至可以带着你的孩子去当地的农贸市场,寻找他们喜欢吃的、不需要添加包装的健康物品。要想获得一个很好的农贸市场资源,请查看美国农田信托基金当地收获的市场数据库。

  • 尽可能购买散装食品。这不仅是一个减少包装浪费的好方法,而且还可以大大节省你的食品杂货账单,特别是对大家庭来说。

为什么重要

为什么每年53万吨的午餐垃圾会造成如此大的威胁?事实是,美国的垃圾填埋场正在填满。速度很快。因为它们已经达到容量,所以需要建造新的垃圾填埋场,而这些垃圾填埋场离城市环境更远,导致更高的处理费用,对当地道路的磨损更大,以及垃圾车的温室气体排放增加。

更多的垃圾焚烧炉也意味着更多的空气污染。制造更少的垃圾可以减少垃圾燃烧过程中产生的碳和甲烷排放。这些排放物可能具有令人难以置信的毒性;对人类和环境的生命都非常有害。

还有一个事实是,塑料需要长达1000年才能完全降解。而且,即使如此,微粒子仍然被遗留下来,污染了土壤和水。据估计,全世界每年生产的塑料中,有10%最终进入了我们的海洋。

在一天结束的时候,如果减少浪费,就可以节省金钱和资源。学校留作处理费用的钱可以转而用于教育项目、书籍、学校活动等。此外,无浪费的盒饭平均每人每年可节省近250美元--这可以为家庭节省大量的资金。

同样重要的是,打包一份健康、无废物的午餐是教导孩子们养成良好的绿色习惯和聪明营养的好机会。家长和教师可以通过建议实地考察回收和处理设施,以及鼓励你孩子的学校开始他们自己的无废物午餐计划,来帮助提高人们的认识。欲了解更多信息,请查看美国农业部提供的这些方便的资源

探索更多

要求演示

children eating healthy packed lunch at table
Kids eating lunch at elementary school

How Addressing School Lunches Could Prevent 530,000 Tons of Waste in Landfills Per Year  

While today’s “convenience” culture certainly comes with its benefits—everything is always at the tips of our fingers—it is certainly worth considering the impact and added cost of this convenience; economical, human, and environmental. Take school lunches, for example. It can be difficult to resist kid-sized throwaways, especially when kids are often attracted to the colorful advertising targeted directly to them and beg you to buy them these products. But all of those packages multiplied by hundreds of thousands of students and schools nationwide adds up to A LOT of extra waste.

How much waste does the average student carrying a packed lunch produce each school year? Approximately 67 pounds of waste. That adds up to more than 18,000 pounds of waste produced by the average-sized elementary school in one year. The World Wildlife Fund estimates food waste alone in U.S. schools to reach 530,000 tons annually.

When food and lunch products go to waste, we’re not only creating physical waste that ends up in our landfills, but we’re also wasting all the natural resources that were needed to create or grow that product/food. From the water, soil, and nutrients needed to grow an apple to the water, electricity, and toxic chemicals used to make a plastic lunch bag.

We have to do better. But how?

Tips to Help You Get Started

  • Buy a long-lasting lunch carrier. Aim for products made with eco-friendly materials and added insulation for keeping food chilled in hot weather and warm in the cold.

  • Invest in BPA and PCV-free reusable containers. Everything from a drink bottle to sandwich “bags” you can use again and again, the up-front investment will more than pay for itself. And the more you’re able to eliminate plastic, the better. Today, there are some amazing glass, stainless steel, bamboo, cloth, and wax options to choose from.

  • Opt for durable, washable cloth napkins and real silverware. While, sure, kids might lose a fork every now and again, in the long run, this is a much better option than throwing away all that paper and plastic. Plus, with so many fun napkin designs now available, kids won’t want to lose them.

  • Choose food that your child is less likely to waste. Okay, sure, easier said than done, right? Especially if your kids often find it difficult to make up their minds about what they want. Try providing a variety of foods in smaller portions and explore more types of food at home before sending it for lunch. You can even take your kids with you to a local farmers market to find healthy items they enjoy eating and that require no added packaging. For a great farmers market resource, check out American Farmland Trust or Local Harvest’s market databases.

  • Purchase food items in bulk whenever possible. This is not only a great way to reduce packaging waste, but it can also add up to significant savings on your grocery bill, especially for big families.

Why It Matters

Why does 530,000 tons of lunch waste annually pose such a threat? The truth is American landfills are filling up. Quickly. Because they’re reaching capacity, new landfills are required to be built, and these are cropping up even farther away from urban settings, leading to higher disposal fees, more wear and tear on local roads, and increased greenhouse gas emissions from garbage trucks.

More trash incinerators also mean more air pollution. Creating less trash cuts down on the carbon and methane emissions created in the process of burning trash. These emissions can be incredibly toxic; significantly harmful to both human and environmental life.

And then there’s the fact that it takes plastic up to 1,000 years to fully degrade. And, even then, microparticles are still being left behind, contaminating soil and water. It’s estimated that 10% of the plastic produced worldwide every year ends up in our oceans.

At the end of the day, money and resources can be spared with less waste. Money set aside for disposal costs at schools could be used instead for educational programs, books, school activities, and more. Plus, waste-free packed lunches save an average of nearly $250 per person per year—that can add up to some serious family savings!

Just as importantly, packing a healthy, waste-free lunch is a great opportunity to teach kids good green habits and smart nutrition. Parents and teachers can help raise awareness by suggesting field trips to recycling and disposal facilities, and by encouraging your kids’ school to start their own waste-free lunch program! For more information, check out these handy resources from the USDA.

Explore More

Request a Demo