旱前旱后马蹄峡谷的并排图像

科罗拉多河的极端干旱和美国水的未来

更热、更干的未来已经到来......而现在可以使用的水更少了。

什么是利用水来改善人类社会的最佳地点?这是美国各地社区面临的问题,但特别是依靠科罗拉多河作为主要水源的七个州(加上墨西哥)。科罗拉多河正在干涸,而且正在迅速发生。数千万人依赖的水源,很快将无法满足我们对它的要求--这是科学家们多年来一直警告的事情。

那么,我们是如何走到这一步的?正在做什么来纠正这个问题?我们怎样才能确保我们现在和未来几代人都能保护我们的重要水源?

让我们来谈谈这个问题。

问题所在

自2000年以来,科罗拉多河流域一直处于多年的干旱之中。虽然这个地区的大部分地区依靠融化的积雪来补充水的储备,但由于常年缺乏降水,导致水位低到即使是2022年创纪录的降雪(比前几年大约增加180%)也不足以补充。根据科罗拉多州立大学科罗拉多水中心的高级水和气候科学家Brad Udall的说法,该地区需要连续六年的这种降雪水平来重新填充水库。一句话:更温暖和更干燥意味着 更少的雪和更少的地下水

鲍威尔湖和米德湖,这两个沿科罗拉多河的人工水库,目前正处于20%至30%的容量之间。上一次水位这么低是在这两个湖第一次被填满的时候。

事实上,水库的水位如此之低,以至于完全威胁到创造水电的能力。米德湖水库是由胡佛大坝创建的,这个水电站向周围几个州的150万人、29个联邦承认的部落以及墨西哥的部分地区提供水和电力。如果米德湖的水位(目前略高于1,000英尺)下降到950英尺以下,胡佛大坝将 无法生产水电

胡佛大坝低水位

不仅仅是电力,这些低水位的影响在整个社区和行业都能感受到。现在正在实施重大的水限制,限制农民、房主、企业和整个社区的用水方式。2022年6月,美国联邦政府向科罗拉多河流域各州发出警告:减少200至400万英亩水的消耗,否则联邦政府将介入。  

我们是如何来到这里的?

到目前为止,我们已经谈到了积雪和地下水的整体下降;人类对水的过度消耗,而环境却没有能力自然补充。但是,我们是如何使用这些水的?它的大部分去了哪里?去了我们的家?填充我们的游泳池?冲洗我们的马桶?

不,是为了浇灌我们的农作物。农业,特别是灌溉,占了美国西部各州用水的大部分。事实上,西部各州的用水需求占美国总用水需求的81%。但为什么呢?

它不仅是美国天气最干燥的地区,而且还拥有美国一些最富饶的农业用地。特别是加利福尼亚,它有全年的生长季节,并生产美国90%的冬季作物。 这当然会引出一个问题:为什么我们要在一个如此干旱、需要如此多水的地区种植作物?在当地种植农作物不是更有效率吗?)

1922年,科罗拉多河流域各州(共七个)和墨西哥首次正式划分了该河的供水。这项协议被称为《科罗拉多河契约》,正是它为生活在这一地区并依赖该河及其支流的4000万人口瓜分了淡水资源(按今天的数字计算)。然而,气候变化和迅速变暖的世界使长期干旱的影响至少增加了30%,使以前的协议不足以确定用水的优先权和分配。

迟来的解决方案

科罗拉多河临时准则于2007年创建,以应对河流不断恶化的存储水平,但即使如此,也没有预料到干旱的全部长度和影响。尽管科学家、部落领袖、环保主义者和当地社区成员一再发出警告,但直到2021年8月16日,垦务局宣布正式宣布下流域地区缺水,才再次采取重大立法行动。这限制了亚利桑那州、内华达州和墨西哥可以从科罗拉多河抽水的数量,这意味着城市和农民的用水量减少。

水资源短缺,即使是在官方基础上实施的短缺(如立法措施),也对人们的生活方式产生重大影响,包括习惯和经济方面。对农民来说,水的减少意味着作物的减少,动物的减少,收入的减少--这对全美国许多已经在为收支平衡而挣扎的农业者来说是一个重大问题。

而且,这一声明仍然只是一个更深的伤口上的绷带。水位继续下降,威胁着整个美国西部的社区。因此,在2022年,联邦政府决定介入并要求科罗拉多河流域各州采取行动。2023年1月,七个州中的六个州达成了一项集体协议;这个方法将削减150万英亩水的使用。这一提议将要求加州大量削减,因为它是该河淡水资源的最大用户。不幸的是,加州拒绝了这项协议,声称它违背了该地区长期建立的水权制度。

那么我们现在在哪里?为什么我们要等这么久才实施变革?而在这个过程中,谁被忽视了?

棕色的科罗拉多河的Arial视图

部落民族缺乏水安全的问题

除非科罗拉多河流域的七个州在下个月达成协议,否则我们可以预期联邦政府会介入科罗拉多河水的使用和分配。在那之前,我们处于一种不确定的状态--这种状态几十年来没有真正改变。

但为什么呢?为什么在过去的100年里,没有制定任何措施来保护科罗拉多河的使用?

嗯,首先,很难让各州达成一致。这绝不是一个借口,但它可以解释为什么河流迫切需要的政治行动会如此不可思议地停止。每个州都在为自己的人民和利益着想,因此,似乎无法达成一个普遍的行动计划。不行动也会更容易。美国有一段历史,为了 "坚持现状 "而无视紧迫的、亟需的变革。事实上,"为什么 "的理由比比皆是,但我们现在知道,我们需要现在就采取行动,否则就会有不归路的危险。而且每个人都需要被纳入(并从)解决方案中受益。

今天,许多土著社区正被水的解决方案所忽视,不得不为他们对科罗拉多河水的权利而斗争。还记得1922年的《科罗拉多河契约》吗?它不包括任何部落的水份额,尽管事实上科罗拉多河有数百英里与几十个部落国家的土地接壤。虽然在纸面上,每个人似乎都同意历史上的条约赋予部落民族对河水的权利,但问题是如何确保这些水。美国政府声称,它没有责任确保承诺给受影响部落的水,因此,这些水权没有被优先考虑,也没有被地方和/或州政府在划分和分配科罗拉多河水的使用时代表。

今天,由于纳瓦霍族在最高法院与亚利桑那州就河水使用权问题进行的斗争,他们处于这一话题的最前沿。到目前为止,最高法院还没有对这个案件作出结论。

基础设施、农业和创造变化

那么,我们该从哪里着手呢?

如果我们要做出足够的改变--足以为子孙后代保护科罗拉多河水,并足以防止对这一关键的生态系统和依赖它的社区造成永久性损害--那么,这种改变需要以适合问题的规模来进行。调整我们的农业方法将是关键的第一步。

目前,科罗拉多河80%的水用于农业;其中15%专门用于浇灌我们的农作物。通过采用再生农业的做法,并对我们种植食物的地点、时间和方式做出更明智的选择,我们可以开始做出重大改变--包括减少用水。其他节水解决方案包括:

  • 滴灌
  • 微灌
  • 改善土壤健康(以增加水的保留)。
  • 种植抗旱作物


市政水保护和再利用估计也能节省多达200万英亩的淡水。家庭和企业的改进可以包括增加灰水系统,纳入失水管理计划,过渡到高效率的水槽、厕所和淋浴头,尽量减少日常用水,等等。事实上,这些高效率的创新和系统被预测能够再节省100万英亩水面。

事实是,我们现在已经有了解决方案;没有迫切的需要依赖未来的技术。关键是要在为时已晚之前投入时间和金钱来实施它们。

幸运的是,在这一方面有一些好消息。今年五月(2023年),三个州--加利福尼亚、内华达和亚利桑那州--都 签署了一项协议,从科罗拉多河流域 少取13%的水,目的是减少对已经干燥的流域的压力。这三个州使用该河的大部分水,虽然该协议标志着为保护该河的水而采取的第一个积极行动,但它仍然低于科学家认为的维持该河系统所需的数量。同样重要的是要注意到,最有可能经历少水后果的人是农民和个人房主。

虽然这绝不是一个完美的解决方案,但这无疑是朝着美国环境可持续性的正确方向迈出的一步。

分享

探索更多

订阅月刊

30x30 非营利合作伙伴

全国青年农民联盟

30x30 定义

宜居土地

30x30 定义

再生农业

side by side images of horseshoe canyon before and after drought

Extreme Drought in the Colorado River and the Future of Water in America

A hotter, drier future is already here...and now there's less water to go around.

What are the best places to use water for the betterment of human society? This is the question that’s facing communities across the United States, but specifically the seven states (plus Mexico) that rely on the Colorado River as a primary water source. The Colorado River is drying up, and it’s happening rapidly. Tens of millions of people rely on a water source that, very soon, will not be able to meet the output we’re demanding of it—something scientists have been warning about for years.

So how did we get here? What’s being done to course-correct? And how can we make sure we’re protecting our critical water sources now and for generations to come?

Let’s talk about it.

The Problem

The Colorado River basin has been in a multi-year drought since 2000. While much of this region relies on melting snowpack to replenish its water reserves, a lack of precipitation year-round has resulted in levels low enough that even the record snowfall of 2022 (up roughly 180% from previous years) isn’t enough to replenish it. According to Brad Udall, a senior water and climate scientist at Colorado State University Colorado Water Center, the region would need six consecutive years of this level of snowfall to refill the reservoirs. Bottom line: warmer and drier means less snow and less groundwater.

Lakes Powell and Mead, both manmade reservoirs along the Colorado River, are currently resting between 20% and 30% capacity. The last time levels were this low was when the lakes were being filled for the first time.

The reservoirs are so low, in fact, that it’s threatening the ability to create hydropower altogether. The Lake Mead reservoir is created by the Hoover Dam, a hydropower plant that supplies water and power to 1.5 million people in several of the surrounding states, 29 federally recognized tribes, and parts of Mexico. If the water elevation of Lake Mead (which currently stands at just above 1,000 feet) drops below 950 feet, the Hoover Dam will be unable to produce hydroelectricity.

Hoover dam low water level

And it’s not just power, the impacts of these low water levels are being felt across communities and industries alike. Significant water limitations are now being put into place that restrict how farmers, homeowners, businesses, and entire communities are able to use water. In June 2022, the U.S. federal government issued a warning to Colorado River basin states: reduce water consumption by 2 to 4 million acre-feet, or the federal government will step in.  

How Did We Get Here?

So far, we’ve talked about the overall decline in both snowpack and groundwater; the human overconsumption of water without the environment’s ability to naturally replenish it. But how are we using all of this water? Where is the majority of it going? To our homes? To fill our swimming pools? To flush our toilets?

Nope—it’s to water our crops. Agriculture, and specifically irrigation, accounts for most of the water used by western U.S. states. In fact, water demand from the states out west accounts for 81% of the total U.S. water demand. But why?

Not only is it the part of the country where the weather is the driest, it also accounts for some of the most fruitful agricultural lands in America. California, in particular, has a year-round growing season and produces 90% of winter crops in the U.S. So, it’s probably no surprise to learn that, of all the western states, their water demand is the highest. (It certainly begs the question: why are we growing our crops in a region that’s so dry and requires so much more water? Wouldn’t it be more efficient to grow our crops locally?)

In 1922, the Colorado River basin states (seven in total) and Mexico first officially divided up the river’s water supply. This agreement was known as the Colorado River Compact, and it’s what has divvied up freshwater resources for the (in today’s numbers) 40 million people who live in this region and rely on the river and its tributaries. However, climate change and a rapidly warming world has increased the impacts of the lengthy drought by at least 30%, rendering the former agreement insufficient for identifying water usage priority and allocation.

A Delayed Solution

The Colorado River Interim Guidelines were created in 2007 in response to the river’s deteriorating storage levels, but even then, the full length and impact of the drought was not anticipated. Despite repeated warnings from scientists, tribal leaders, environmentalists, and local community members, major legislative action was not taken again until August 16, 2021, when the Bureau of Reclamation announced an official water shortage declaration for the Lower Basin regions. This limited Arizona, Nevada, and Mexico on the amount of water they could siphon from the Colorado River, meaning less water for cities and farmers alike.

Water shortages, even those implemented on an official basis (like with legislative measures) have a major impact on how people live, both habitually and economically. Less water for farmers means fewer crops, fewer animals, and less income—a major issue for many agriculturists across America who are already struggling to break even.

And still, this declaration was only a bandage on a much deeper wound. Water levels continued to drop, threatening communities throughout the western United States. As a result, in 2022, the federal government decided to step in and require action from the Colorado River Basin states. In January 2023, six of the seven states came to a collective agreement; an approach that will cut 1.5 million acre-feet of water from use. This proposition would require large cuts from California, as it’s the largest user of the river’s freshwater resources. Unfortunately, California rejected the agreement, claiming it goes against the region’s long-established system of water rights.

So where are we now? Why did we wait so long to implement change? And who is being overlooked in the process?

Arial view of brown Colorado River

A Lack of Water Security for Tribal Nations

Unless the seven Colorado River Basin states come to an agreement in the next month, we can expect the federal government to get involved in the usage and distribution of the Colorado River’s water. Until then, we’re in a state of limbo—something that hasn’t really changed for decades.

But WHY? Why have no measurements been put into place over the past 100 years to preserve the use of the Colorado River?

Well, for starters, it’s difficult to get states to agree. This is by no means an excuse, but it is an explanation for why the political action the river so desperately needs has been so incredibly halted. Each state is looking out for their own people and interests and, as a result, can’t seem to come to one universal action plan. Inaction can also be easier. The U.S. has a history of ignoring pressing, much-needed change in order to “stick to the status quo.” In truth, reasons “why” abound, but we now know that we need to act now or risk a point of no return. And everyone needs to be included in (and benefit from) the solution.

Today, many Indigenous communities are being overlooked by water solutions and are having to fight for their rights to the Colorado River water. Remember that Colorado River Compact from 1922? It didn’t include any water shares for tribes, despite the fact that hundreds of miles of the Colorado River borders dozens of tribal nation lands. While, on paper, everyone seems to agree that historical treaties give tribal nations the rights to the river water, the problem is in securing this water. The U.S. government claims it has no responsibility to secure the water promised to the affected tribes and, as a result, these water rights have not been prioritized or represented by local and/or state governments dividing and allocating Colorado River water usage.

Today, the Navajo Nation are at the forefront of this conversation due to their Supreme Court battle with the state of Arizona over river water access. To date, the Supreme Court has not come to a conclusion about this case.

Infrastructure, Agriculture, and Making Change

So, where do we go from here?

If we’re going to make sufficient change—enough to protect the Colorado River waters for future generations, and enough to prevent permanent damage to this critical ecosystem and the communities that rely on it—that change needs to come at a scale that fits the problem. Adapting our approach to agriculture will be a critical first step.

Currently, 80% of the water usage of the Colorado River goes to agriculture; 15% of which is dedicated solely to watering our crops. By adopting regenerative agriculture practices and making smarter choices about where, when, and how we’re planting our food, we can begin to make a significant change—including the reduced use of water. Other water conservation solutions include:


Municipal water conservation and reuse is also estimated to be able to save up to 2 million acre-feet of freshwater. Improvements in homes and businesses can include things like adding greywater systems, incorporating water-loss management programs, transitioning to high efficiency sinks, toilets, and showerheads, minimizing day-to-day water usage, and more. In fact, these high-efficiency innovations and systems are predicted to be able to save another 1 million acre-feet.

The truth is we have the solutions now; there is no pressing need to rely on future technologies. It’s about putting in the time and money to implement them before it’s too late.

Luckily, there is some good news on that front. This May (2023), three states—California, Nevada, and Arizona—all signed an agreement to take 13% less water from the Colorado River basin, with an aim of putting less strain on the already drying watershed. These three states utilize the majority of the river’s water and, while this agreement marks the first positive action taken to preserve the river’s waters, it is still less than the amount scientists believe to be necessary to maintain the river system. It’s also important to note that the people who are most likely to experience the consequences of less water are farmers and individual homeowners.

While by no means a perfect solution, this is certainly a step in the right direction for environmental sustainability in the U.S.

Share

Explore More

Monthly Newsletter Sign-up

30x30 Nonprofit Partner

National Young Farmers Coalition

30x30 DEFINITION

Habitable Lands

30x30 DEFINITION

Regenerative Agriculture