地球共享 - COP15、30×30和拥抱新措施以拯救世界

COP15、30×30和拥抱新措施以拯救世界

2022年在加拿大蒙特利尔举行的联合国生物多样性大会(COP15)在希望中结束,世界各国同意采取一系列措施(4个目标和23个具体目标),在2030年前解决严重的生物多样性损失。这些努力包括保护和管理地球上至少30%的土地和水--这是2020年启动的30×30倡议的关键因素。

目前,只有10%的水域和17%的土地(大约)被认为在生物多样性和生态系统保护方面得到了保护。

但这并不是会议上通过的唯一目标。各国还同意将全球食物浪费和有毒农药的使用减少一半,并逐步淘汰对环境有害的政府补贴。

所以,是的,这是个大问题。

但让我们先关注一下30×30倡议及其在联合国协议中反映的目标。它到底是什么?如何才能实现它?

如果我们成功了,我们可能期待的结果是什么,如果我们不成功,我们将面临什么后果?

什么是30x30?

有人称其为 "倡议",有人称其为 "运动",而在一些国家,它正在成为政策。不管怎么说,30×30是保护和生物多样性的一个关键步骤。我们已经失去了120万平方英里的荒野,更不用说仅在过去的50年里就有数百个甚至数千个物种灭绝,而30×30是由自然与人类高级联盟在2020年首次提出的,其核心目标是在2030年前保护全球30%的土地和海洋。到2021年,包括美国在内的数百个国家已经(全部或部分)在其环境保护倡议中采用了这个框架。

30%的好处

拯救全球30%的土地和水域最终能实现什么?"30 "的目的是什么?

首先,"三十而立 "听起来相当酷--它令人难忘。这也是可能的

为了设定一个适当的目标,它必须是a)可追踪的,和b)可实现的。30×30做到了这两点。我们可以跟踪被保护的土地和水域有多少增长(因为我们有今天的数字可以比较),而且这是我们可以合理地在未来七年左右的时间里实现的事情--如果我们把我们的思想和资源用于此,我们可以实现。

30%的土地和水保护也将使我们能够维持关键的生物多样性和栖息地安全,保护动物和植物物种以及支持全球农业的基本生态系统。是的,这是正确的,我们吃的食物依赖于世界各地的生态系统的健康。破坏这些生态系统会对我们养活不断增长的人类人口的能力产生灾难性的影响。

研究表明,实现30×30的目标将减少大约一半的灭绝率。

它是可以实现的吗?(承诺与行动)

不要误会我们的意思,所有这些国家都为实现这些目标承诺了时间、金钱和资源,这很了不起。然而,承诺并不是一个永久的解决方案--它只是一个承诺,要做一些事情。除非我们开始采取真正的行动,否则不能保证这些环境问题都能得到解决。

这绝对是第一步,这很好!现在是采取行动的时候了。而一些国家已经开始了。美国通过的《减少通货膨胀法》就是一个例子。数千亿美元的投资正被用于帮助应对气候危机,这包括一系列的投资,预期目标将在2030年之前实现,如:。

  • 投资于更多的清洁能源(9.5亿块太阳能电池板,12万台风力涡轮机,2300个电网规模的电池厂)。
  • 保护近200万英亩的国家森林
  • 减少1千兆吨的温室气体排放

然而,重要的是要牢记我们的非营利性合作伙伴"一个地球"如此恰当地指出的问题。30×30不是一个一刀切的解决方案。每个国家都需要根据其独特的情况来作出贡献。例如,一些国家拥有大量的生物多样性,如巴西和它的雨林。由于这些森林的巨大规模和影响,巴西将希望为土地保护设定一个大于30%的目标。其他被认为对生物多样性重要的全球土地面积较少的国家将希望把这个目标缩减到一个更合理的比例。

我们还没有到那一步吗?

COP15会议上商定和承诺的新措施对世界来说无疑是个好消息--也是新一年的一个充满希望的开始--但这并不意味着我们现在就已经很清楚了。人们和国家首先需要行动起来。尽管如此,这当然是我们可以引以为豪的事情,也是人们在经历了充满逆境的艰难一年之后,为了更大的利益而走到一起的一个伟大的例子。

想表示你对30×30倡议的支持吗?找出你如何将30×30框架带到你自己的社区。而且,像往常一样,传播信息!越多的人谈论这个倡议,并意识到气候危机的可能解决方案,我们就能产生更大的影响。一起努力。

分享

探索更多

订阅月刊

30x30 非营利合作伙伴

全国青年农民联盟

30x30 定义

宜居土地

30x30 定义

再生农业

Earthshare - COP15, 30×30, and Embracing New Measures to Save the World

COP15, 30×30, and Embracing New Measures to Save the World

2022 ended with hope at the United Nations Biodiversity Conference (COP15) in Montreal, Canada, where nations around the world agreed to adopt a set of measures (4 goals and 23 targets) addressing critical biodiversity loss by 2030. These efforts include the conservation and management of at least 30% of the planet’s lands and waters—a key factor of the 30×30 initiative, which launched in 2020.

Currently, only 10% of waters and 17% of lands (approximately) are considered preserved with respect to biodiversity and ecosystem protections.

But that wasn’t the only goal adopted at the conference. Countries also agreed to halve global food waste and the use of toxic pesticides, and progressively phase out environmentally harmful governmental subsidies.

So, yeah, it was kind of a big deal.

But let’s focus for a second on the 30×30 initiative and its goals reflected within the UN’s agreement. What exactly is it? How can it possibly be achieved?

What are the outcomes we might expect if we’re successful and the consequences we’ll face if we’re not?

What Is 30x30?

Some call it an “initiative,” some call it a “movement,” and in some countries, it’s becoming policy. Regardless of phrasing, 30×30 is a critical step forward for conservation and biodiversity. Created to address an unprecedented reality where we’ve already lost 1.2 million square miles of wilderness worldwide—not to mention the hundreds, if not thousands, of species that have gone extinct in the past 50 years alone—30×30 was first presented in 2020 by the High Ambition Coalition for Nature and People with the central goal of preserving 30% of global lands and oceans by 2030. By 2021, hundreds of countries, including the United States, had adopted this framework (in whole or in part) in conjunction with their environmental conservation initiatives.

The Benefit of 30%

What does saving 30% of global lands and waters ultimately achieve? What is the purpose of “30?”

For starters, “thirty by thirty” sounds pretty cool—it’s memorable. It’s also possible.

In order to set a proper goal, it must be a) trackable, and b) achievable. 30×30 does both of these things. It’s possible to track how much growth there is in preserved lands and waters (since we have today’s numbers to compare against), and it’s something that—should we set our minds and resources to it—we can reasonably make happen in the next seven years or so.

30 percent of land and water conservation will also enable us to maintain critical biodiversity and habitat security, protecting animal and plant species as well as essential ecosystems that support global agriculture. Yes, that’s right, the food we eat is reliant on the health of ecosystems around the world. Damaging these can have catastrophic effects on our ability to feed the growing human population.

Research indicates that achieving the 30×30 target would reduce extinction rates by approximately half.

Is it Achievable? (Pledge vs. Act)

Don’t get us wrong, it’s amazing that all of these individual countries have pledged time, money, and resources toward achieving these goals. However, a pledge is not a permanent solution—it’s simply a promise to do something. And until we start taking real action, there’s no guarantee that any of these environmental issues will be resolved.

This is absolutely step one, and that’s great! Now it’s time to act. And some countries have already begun. The passing of the Inflation Reduction Act in the United States is one example. Hundreds of billions of dollars are being invested to help combat the climate crisis, and this includes a series of investments with expected goals to be delivered by 2030 such as:

  • Investing in more clean energy (950 million solar panels, 120,000 wind turbines, 2,300 grid-scale battery plants)
  • Protecting nearly 2 million acres of national forests
  • Reducing greenhouse gas emissions by 1 gigaton

It is, however, important to keep in mind what our Nonprofit Partner One Earth so aptly pointed out: 30×30 is not a one-size fits all solution. Countries are each going to need to contribute based on their unique circumstances. For example, some countries are home to a vast amount of biodiversity, such as Brazil and its rainforests. Due to the sheer size and impact of these forests, Brazil will want to set a target for land conservation that’s greater than 30%. Other countries with less global land area considered important for biodiversity will want to shrink this goal to a more reasonable proportion.

Are We There Yet?

The new measures agreed upon and pledged at the COP15 conference are certainly great news for the world—and a hopeful way to start the new year—but that doesn’t mean we’re in the clear just yet. People and countries need to walk the walk first. That said, this is certainly something we can be proud of and a great example of people coming together for the greater good after a tough year full of adversity.

Want to show your support for the 30×30 initiative? Find out how you can bring the 30×30 framework to your own community. And, as always, spread the word! The more people talk about this initiative and are aware of possible solutions to the climate crisis, the more impact we can have. Together.

Explore More

Request a Demo