对抗塑料污染的9个建议 - EarthShare新闻

对抗塑料污染的9个提示

#1.支持塑料费和禁令

日常用品,如塑料袋、水瓶、外卖容器,甚至个人卫生用品中的小微珠,都对环境产生了负面影响。政策是对抗塑料污染的最有效工具。告诉你的地方、州和联邦政治家,你想减少塑料垃圾。为了获得灵感,请查看全国各地已颁布塑料禁令的州的努力

#2.对制造商施加压力

当你购物时,请注意包装。如果你认为你支持的品牌可以在减少塑料使用方面做得更好,请在社交媒体上发出你的声音,用一封信,或通过光顾一个更可持续的竞争对手。首先,探索一些倡议,如Oceana的结束一次性塑料的运动和海洋保护协会创建无垃圾海洋的努力。

#3.志愿清理水路

清理当地的水道是一种动手的方式,可以帮助减少塑料污染的影响,同时关心你周围的环境。要伸出援助之手,请查看像海洋保护协会的海岸清洁活动冲浪者基金会的更好海滩联盟

#4.在回收前减少

虽然比填埋场好,但回收塑料仍有其问题。首先,一些常见的塑料,如购物袋中使用的低密度聚乙烯(LDPE),很难回收。即使是比较容易回收的塑料,如水瓶中的聚对苯二甲酸乙二醇酯(PET),在回收过程中也会发生分解。最终,这些塑料只能被回收有限的次数,然后它们就会变得过于退化,无法再用于其他产品。从气候的角度来看,生产塑料也有很大的碳足迹,所以减少我们对塑料的依赖也能减少全球温室气体的排放。

#5.让塑料远离厨房

厨房中使用的常见塑料制品--塑料杯、盘子等--可能含有有害的化学物质,如双酚A(BPA)和邻苯二甲酸盐,它们与一些负面的健康影响有关,包括癌症。这些化学物质可以渗入食物,特别是当塑料被加热时。烹饪时不要使用塑料,而是使用玻璃、瓷器、木材、铸铁或不锈钢制成的盘子和锅,并避免加热塑料容器。

#6.购买二手货

购买衣服、炊具、玩具和其他二手家居用品可以帮助减少塑料污染,因为这些以前使用过的产品通常没有包装。看看当地的旧货店和邻居的旧货市场。你也可以报名参加当地的 "不买东西 "小组,以重新利用和再利用。

#7.在家多做饭

在家吃饭可以减少由一次性外卖容器、塑料餐具和塑料袋产生的塑料垃圾。在家里,可以很容易地储存剩菜,而不依赖塑料产品。你也会减少你的食物浪费!

#8.自带物品

从餐具和水杯到袋子和尿布,通过购买可重复使用的长效产品来戒除一次性塑料的习惯。诀窍是记得把它们带在身边,并真正使用它们--在你的汽车后备箱里放上可重复使用的购物袋,任何人都可以?关于如何记住你的可重复使用产品的更多窍门,请查看加拿大斯特拉特福镇的这些很棒的提示

#9.放弃塑料吸管

塑料吸管是在地球海洋中发现的最常见的塑料制品之一,如果不小心吃了它们,对海洋生物,如鸟类和海龟,可能是致命的。当外出就餐时,请选择没有吸管的饮料,或者带一根可重复使用的吸管来代替。

做出积极的改变

现在是改变围绕塑料使用的文化的时候了。而最好的开始是什么?改变你自己的习惯。它可能看起来像一个很大的工作,但没有什么明显的回报,但即使是最小的行动,随着时间的推移,也会大大增加。

在咖啡店?请向咖啡师要一个陶瓷杯。在商店或外卖点拒绝多余的包装,如不必要的塑料袋,并与尽可能多的人分享有关打击塑料污染的成功运动的新闻。在社交媒体上传播这个消息,向你的家人介绍这些解决方案,并打电话给你的地方和州代表,要求在更大范围内进行改变。发出你的声音。

我们可以一起改变美国的废物和塑料使用文化。

分享

探索更多

订阅月刊

30x30 非营利合作伙伴

全国青年农民联盟

30x30 定义

宜居土地

30x30 定义

再生农业

fbpx
9 Tips to Fight Plastic Pollution - EarthShare News

9 Tips to Fight Plastic Pollution

#1. Support Plastic Fees and Bans

Everyday items like plastic bags, water bottles, takeout containers, and even the tiny microbeads found in personal hygiene products have a negative environmental impact. Policy is the most effective tool to fight plastic pollution. Tell your local, state, and federal politicians that you want to reduce plastic waste. For inspiration, check out the efforts of states across the country that have enacted plastic bans.

#2. Put Pressure on Manufacturers

When you shop, pay attention to packaging. If you believe a brand you support could do better at reducing plastic use, make your voice heard on social media, with a letter, or by patronizing a more sustainable competitor. To start, explore initiatives like Oceana’s campaign to end single-use plastics and the Ocean Conservancy’s effort to create Trash Free Seas.

#3. Volunteer to Clean Up a Waterway

Cleaning up a local waterway is a hands-on way to help reduce the impact of plastic pollution while caring for the environment around you. To lend a hand, check out options like the Ocean Conservancy’s Coastal Cleanups or the Surfrider Foundation’s Better Beach Alliance.

#4. Reduce Before Recycling

While it’s better than the landfill, recycling plastic still has its problems. For starters, some common plastics, like the low-density polyethylene (LDPE) used in shopping bags, are difficult to recycle. Even plastics that are easier to recycle, like the polyethylene terephthalate (PET) found in water bottles, break down during the recycling process. Ultimately, these plastics can only be recycled a limited number of times before they become too degraded to repurpose for other products. From a climate perspective, producing plastics also comes with a big carbon footprint, so cutting our reliance on plastic also reduces global greenhouse gas emissions.

#5. Keep Plastic Out of the Kitchen

Common plastic products used in the kitchen–plastic cups, plates, etc.–can contain harmful chemicals, such as bisphenol A (BPA) and phthalates, which have been linked to a number of negative health effects, including cancer. These chemicals can leach into food, especially when plastic is heated. Instead of using plastic when cooking, use dishes and pans made of glass, porcelain, wood, cast iron, or stainless steel, and avoid heating plastic containers.

#6. Shop for Second-Hand Goods

Purchasing clothes, cookware, toys, and other household items secondhand can help cut plastic pollution since these previously-used products typically come without packaging. Check out local thrift stores and neighborhood yard sales. You can also sign up for local ‘buy nothing’ groups to repurpose and reuse.

#7. Cook at Home More

Eating at home cuts plastic waste generated by single-use takeout containers, plastic cutlery, and plastic bags. At home, it’s easy to store leftovers without relying on plastic products. You’ll cut down on your food waste too!

#8. BYO (Bring Your Own) Everything

From utensils and mugs to bags and diapers, kick the single-use plastic habit by purchasing longer-lasting products meant to be reused. The trick is remembering to bring them with you and actually using them—reusable shopping bags in the trunk of your car, anyone? For more hacks about how to remember your reusables, check out these awesome tips from the town of Stratford in Canada.

#9. Forgo Plastic Straws

Plastic straws are among the most common plastic products found in the planet’s oceans, and they can be fatal to marine creatures, such as birds and sea turtles, when accidently consumed. When eating out, opt for drinks without straws or bring a reusable straw along instead.

Making Positive Changes

It’s time to change the culture surrounding plastic use. And the best place to start? Changing your own habits. It may seem like a lot of work for little visible payoff, but even the smallest actions add up significantly over time!

At a coffee shop? Ask the barista for a ceramic cup. Decline excess packaging at stores or takeout spots such as unnecessary plastic bags, and share news about successful campaigns that fight plastic pollution with as many people as you can. Spread the word on socials, introduce these solutions to your family, and call your local and state representatives to demand change at a larger scale. Make your voice heard.

Together, we can change the culture of waste and plastic use in America.

Explore More

Request a Demo